Construct 2 under Wine: Almost working now

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Mar 26, 2014 9:54 am

FYI all people who want it working : On the winehq support, they told me the file system (load/save and load license) works well on their test with R163 and wine 1.7.14.
I personnally don't use wine as they use it, I directly use the wine app from winebottler and it didn't work for me with 1.7.14 - I don't know why.
BUT, it works perfectly now with the latest 1.7.15 !

Only problem for now, I can't move/pan in the layout (The move/pan works only under crossover 13.1 but they don't support wine 1.7.15 yet).
For comparaison, The layout of Multimedia Fusion/Fusion 2.5 is working well, so I don't know what is the difference between the both workspaces (@Ashley if you can help on this, you may know what technology is using your workspace renderer, directx9, gdi.... ? I really don't know anything about this sorry).

Preview isn't working neither, and I'm pretty sure this is cause the wine bottle doesn't make the link to the mac localhost....
Passionate developer

If my work helped you to make your project, please consider making a donation :)
B
44
S
12
G
14
Posts: 631
Reputation: 10,987

Post » Wed Mar 26, 2014 11:57 am

septeven wrote:FYI all people who want it working : On the winehq support, they told me the file system (load/save and load license) works well on their test with R163 and wine 1.7.14.
I personnally don't use wine as they use it, I directly use the wine app from winebottler and it didn't work for me with 1.7.14 - I don't know why.
BUT, it works perfectly now with the latest 1.7.15 !

Only problem for now, I can't move/pan in the layout (The move/pan works only under crossover 13.1 but they don't support wine 1.7.15 yet).
For comparaison, The layout of Multimedia Fusion/Fusion 2.5 is working well, so I don't know what is the difference between the both workspaces (@Ashley if you can help on this, you may know what technology is using your workspace renderer, directx9, gdi.... ? I really don't know anything about this sorry).

Preview isn't working neither, and I'm pretty sure this is cause the wine bottle doesn't make the link to the mac localhost....


I cannot tell, but maybe the preview over LAN would make it possible to preview it (since you connect to the IP rather than the localhost)
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
53
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,123

Post » Wed Mar 26, 2014 12:03 pm

@Aphrodite
Yes I already tried it. But didn't work. It may be a wine's issue, but my skills about network stuffs are limited, so I can't specially be sure of what's going wrong...
Passionate developer

If my work helped you to make your project, please consider making a donation :)
B
44
S
12
G
14
Posts: 631
Reputation: 10,987

Post » Wed Mar 26, 2014 1:36 pm

The layout is rendered with OpenGL. Beyond that it is an ordinary MFC app.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,530
Reputation: 195,402

Post » Thu Mar 27, 2014 3:20 pm

I think I finally understand what you're trying to do, septeven.

Until now, I assumed you were trying to access the preview directly (which would presume a browser running inside the wine prefix).

It might have something to do with the way wine handles networking. I'll look into it, once I've got more time (possibly on or after the weekend).
B
6
S
2
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1,685

Post » Thu Mar 27, 2014 4:02 pm

Once and if you got it ready, will you be able to write an .app or .dmg file from it, so that people can install it on their Macs without using Wine or VirtualEnvironments?

Just curious :)
Image
Check out our start-up and configure your own helmet in true 3D.
B
44
S
11
G
11
Posts: 1,154
Reputation: 9,988

Post » Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:34 pm

Beaverlicious wrote:Once and if you got it ready, will you be able to write an .app or .dmg file from it, so that people can install it on their Macs without using Wine or VirtualEnvironments?

Just curious :)


Not really (someone would need to have either access to the full source or find a way to reverse engineer the whole thing*).

But we could probably provide fully integrated wrappers, so no one would have to go through the pain of finding a wine version that works and setting it up manually. If that's ok with Scirra, that is.


*Legal in most countries but the US ('cept for Chinese Wall Reverse Engineering. Which is legal there, as well). Notwithstanding the fact that you'd, in all likelyhood, piss Ashley/Tom off. Something I'd consider much worse than breaking a bunch of silly laws. But that's just me.
B
6
S
2
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1,685

Post » Mon Apr 21, 2014 10:56 am

Finally got around to testing this on my Mac.
Using Wineskin and Wine 1.7.16, the application crashes as soon as I try to create a new project or open an existing one.

On the first run, it also kept telling me that my GPU drivers appear to be two years old (strangely, I never had this happen on my Linux box).
B
6
S
2
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1,685

Post » Mon May 26, 2014 8:52 pm

Hi

Updating the thread: I've just tried to make it work with wineskin and wine 1.7.18. Unfortunately it's still not possible to pan/move in the layout window, and it will not update the interface if you change to other tabs either.
I was however able to open projects without Crashing by using the mac drivers under display settings.
Tested on a Macbook Air 2013 with HD5000, OSX version 10.9.3
Construct 2 release 168.
B
21
S
5
G
4
Posts: 68
Reputation: 3,268

Post » Tue May 27, 2014 12:43 pm

I have no problem with running construct with VMware Player, might be worth a try. Uncheck 'Accelerate 3d graphics' under your virtual machine settings to keep construct from crashing
B
11
S
2
G
1
Posts: 202
Reputation: 1,580

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests