Construct 2 v103 - Crash

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:38 pm

Hi @Ashley & @Tom,

I'm afraid I'm unable to replicate this error on a smaller scale.

I'm seeing the below:



It happens when the game calls a level change on a certain level, when a certain object is on the layout. I have located the line which will stop the glitch, but it doesn't seem to help me. I was able to use it perfectly fine in the previous stable version r95.

I'm afraid it goes against your request for bug reports, but my game has over 150 events, and an awful lot of objects. I've tried cutting the project down, but it keeps having the message saying that all objects need to appear on one layout. Which I'm struggling to figure out.

Seeing as I've been able to locate the line with the error, might I be able to send you the full project to have a look at, or would you rather I hack and slash the project until I get it down to a more acceptable size?

In either case, how would you like me to send it?
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 929
Reputation: 9,356

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:49 pm

Same happens to me whenever i try to reload a scene. Its a change from version 102 to version 103 and i tried to clean all my system to upload a capx but its really really hard to do.
B
33
S
6
G
4
Posts: 44
Reputation: 5,066

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:50 pm

Does it happen every time? If so a .capx and steps to reproduce are OK. Dropbox is good for sharing files.Ashley2012-09-11 19:50:34
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,468

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:54 pm

Sorry, I should have said... the highlighted line, when disabled, allows the game to work fine.

AnD4D2012-09-11 19:54:45
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 929
Reputation: 9,356

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 7:58 pm

Thanks, @Ashley.

Can I PM the file? It's a project I've been working on a few months, and would rather not post a link to it on the forum.

I can confirm it's happening every time. Line 145 seems to be the culprit.
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 929
Reputation: 9,356

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:06 pm

Found my error, its also whenever i have on destroyed, it seems like constructs2 its triggering it on scene reload.
B
33
S
6
G
4
Posts: 44
Reputation: 5,066

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:45 pm

What does your event look like @donan?

I'm unable to re-create it...
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 929
Reputation: 9,356

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 8:48 pm

I do an event on destroyed to detect i killed an enemy (and add it to a counter)to be sure the player emptied the screen before it goes onto the next level.
Could probably change the code to create a state on each enemy but would require a lot of change since i created a complex levels spawn system :(
B
33
S
6
G
4
Posts: 44
Reputation: 5,066

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:21 pm

We all seem to be having this problem when an object is suppose to be destroyed.
B
42
S
11
G
5
Posts: 446
Reputation: 6,417

Post » Tue Sep 11, 2012 9:46 pm

Darn... back to r95 for me
@bearboxmedia
www.bearboxmedia.com

Nintendo Wii U Developer using Construct 2
B
68
S
8
G
6
Posts: 929
Reputation: 9,356

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest