Construct 2 wont run

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:29 pm

Problem Description
C2 wont run with two different errors, one after a clean install and one when trying to run (in both admin and none admin).

After installing I get -
Unable to execute file
CreateProcess failed; code740

When trying to run I get -
The procedure entry point (then a garbled mess of icons and stuff), could not be located in the DLL

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 10

Construct 2 Version ID
r212
B
6
S
1
Posts: 19
Reputation: 440

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:38 pm

Does this reproduce with r212.2?
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,546
Reputation: 195,436

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:42 pm

Yep
B
6
S
1
Posts: 19
Reputation: 440

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:46 pm

CreateProcess failed; code740


I believe this means that you don’t have the correct “rights” to perform the operation.

First Try disable UAC <---hate this bloody thing lol.
See if that works. And that will highlight if that is the issue or it could be registry files, etc etc

I know you uninstalled it and reinstalled it. Did you do a reboot between the two? Uninstall. Restart. Re install. Restart. Note the restart.
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,718

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:50 pm

It was all working fine until today.
UAC changes make no difference.
I did a restart between unsintalling/install with the same errors (though the garbled mess of stuff changes).
B
6
S
1
Posts: 19
Reputation: 440

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:53 pm

Error 740 is ERROR_ELEVATION_REQUIRED ("The requested operation requires elevation.") - perhaps try right-clicking and running as administrator? It's odd though, C2 should run just fine without any elevated permissions...
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,546
Reputation: 195,436

Post » Tue Sep 08, 2015 2:55 pm

Yeah, I've been running it as admin (set in properties) fine up until today. I don't think it's directly a C2 problem but so far is the only app that wont start.
I get the elevation error after installing and the dll error when trying to run the exe
B
6
S
1
Posts: 19
Reputation: 440

Post » Wed Sep 09, 2015 5:49 am

I had similar issues awhile back. Running tweaking.com I recommend these guys if you don't know how to custom write your own script and their little free program basically restores permissions as they should be, fixes registry etc etc etc long list. Be sure to follow each step. i.e backing up registry files, running a malware scan, system restore etc etc.

It worked for me... but my issue was bigger than that eventually. I found I was getting blue screens often, and I eventually tracked down 30bytes of corrupt memory sector, that believe it or not, when a program accessed it, it would then corrupt what it passed onto disk. So my only solution was to buy new memory, and start with a new disk (got a solid state and never looked back) Of course, my issues vs yours won't be the same.

BUT, for some unknown reason your permissions are broken (this can be a result of so many things - even malware)
Try tweaking.com windows fix software. It doesn't do anything, except restore everything to what it should be - it even checks your windows installation to ensure no files have gone missing etc etc. Very nice program.

I used it for 7, and windows 8. I haven't used it for windows 10, but I am sure it will be just as good, they might even offer some options to deactivate all the tracking stuff of windows 10 - (Windows 10, worst release yet as far as security)

Tweaking.com - Windows Repair is an all-in-one repair tool to help fix a large majority of known Windows problems including:

Unhide Non System Files
Repair problems with .lnk (Shortcuts)
File Association
WMI
Windows Firewall
Internet Explorer
Windows Installer (MSI)
Hosts File
Policies Set By Infections
Icons
Winsock & DNS Cache
Proxy Settings
Windows Updates
CD/DVD Missing/Not Working
Reset Registry and File Permissions
Register System Files
Remove Temp Files
and more...


A quick look, I didn't see windows 10 support :(
edit:
All default permissions for 7, 8 and 10 have all been updated after the windows updates where done for the patch Tuesday of this month (Aug. 2015)

Okay, seems they added support :)
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,718

Post » Thu Sep 10, 2015 1:50 pm

Tried the tweaking thing, and a reg clean but still getting the same errors :(
B
6
S
1
Posts: 19
Reputation: 440

Post » Thu Sep 10, 2015 2:11 pm

cornfl4ke wrote:Tried the tweaking thing, and a reg clean but still getting the same errors :(


Seriously? Oh, wow. How can that be?

New beta works?

Umm, actually, have you installed a version prior to r212.2? And it works or doesn't?
If it works, then I am stumped.

If it doesn't, then you will need to uninstall, and remove all trace of the software manually and try install again.
This is the worst kind of issue... and the problem is, that it might have started with construct2, but can start spreading to other software :( [No attacks you know of, no recent downloads, installs, firewall warnings, anti virus warnings etc] (I'm pulling at straws)

Sorry I'm not much help.... but this is weird... tweaking should have sorted all those issues :oops:
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,718

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests