Construct 3 plugin SDK v1

For discussion and help with the Construct 3 Plugin SDK

Post » Mon Jun 05, 2017 3:12 pm

justifun wrote:@lucid - behaviors were added recently, but drawing related stuff is still not implemented yet. (forum post here: behaviors-now-supported-in-sdk_t191739)

@martdsam - Here is a big list of addons for C2 : c2-plugins-and-behaviors-list_t65170

If i remember reading correctly somewhere, I believe there's a plan to keep a better repository within addon manager for C3 down the road, integrated directly in it.

but for now i've been hosting a constrct 3 compatible addon list here: c2-plugins-and-behaviors-list_t65170

with the ability to submit new links here: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIp ... g/viewform


Cool, it has lots of plugins. But I still think that a plugin-only page would be cooler, so we would have filters, categories, notes, and other things that would make it easier.

Thanks for the reply. :)
Hi I am Samuel :)

My google play
B
42
S
10
G
1
Posts: 126
Reputation: 3,278

Post » Tue Jun 20, 2017 10:45 am

Hey guys

Just to make sure I get the current status quo. I have this custom FX shader for construct 2, which is basically a mashed up Brightness, Grayness, and Tint into one single FX, that I use in my project. I really want to move to C3 but I can't find a way to convert this FX that I use heavily. Can anyone tell me how to go about doing this, and if its even possible at all for the moment?

Thanks in advance.

Cheers
B
18
S
3
Posts: 65
Reputation: 994

Post » Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:26 am

Effect addons are not yet supported. They're on the todo list.
Scirra Founder
B
399
S
236
G
89
Posts: 24,529
Reputation: 195,390

Post » Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:59 am

Thanks for the clarification.

I'll be tracking this closely.

Cheers!
B
18
S
3
Posts: 65
Reputation: 994

Post » Tue Jun 27, 2017 1:40 pm

Hello

I'm actually trying to create a C3 Addon

I'm probably doing something wrong because I can't even install it in Construct 3 : "failed to install the addon" error.
No error in the chrome console, just nothing except this message.

I zipped the files and not the folder itself.

What should I start searching for ?
B
13
S
4
G
4
Posts: 72
Reputation: 3,505

Post » Tue Jun 27, 2017 2:17 pm

I think there must some kind of problem today to install plugins, as there is only "failed to install addon" message and on the console just

Code: Select all
0f5c4ba5-6920-46d1-b904-69a5042d1d21 Failed to load resource: the server responded with a status of 404 (Not Found)


By the way, if I may ask: I need to create a javascript plugin to implement a cross game scoring system, so I want to embed some ajax calls by using this plugin. Is it correct to do it in construct3 instead of 2? And is it the correct approach at all?

I need basically to hook some javascript events, like gameStarted(), gameUpdatedScore(), gameEndedWithScore() and so on. Inside these events there are ajax calls.

Thank you for your help
B
3
Posts: 1
Reputation: 177

Post » Fri Nov 03, 2017 2:21 pm

Looks like everyone, including me starts out trying to build C3 addons in the same sequence in which the manual reads. This is definitely NOT the way to start C3 addon development. The C3 SDK manual is upside-down. You MUST first setup a local plugin server, go through the process of getting that working. Then you MUST develop your plugins in "developer mode" per the manual. After you get your plugin loading and working in developer mode, you can say "it's working" and then do the normal .zip/.c3addon import into C3. DO NOT keep trying to import any custom plugin with even one single bug! In addition to no debugging info in the console, you will also lock up C3 editor addon mamanger and object import dialogs. Sometimes you will lock the main addon loading screen.

Get your local plugin dev server working FIRST and dev that way.

Here is my working C3 plugin server. If you don't know Node/Express, Google and you'll find a million articles and tutorials. Very easy to install. Below is a link to the zip of the c3-plugin-server app folder. Make sure you run your command window as admin. Unzip the app. Then run npm install to update/install all the packages you need. There are helpful comments in server.js. nodemon server.js will start the plugin server. Node provides good error messages on install. If you see any you should be able to fix.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2LbtzyJ6MqNWHZnVDhfR2o1SFk/view?usp=sharing

Code: Select all
const https = require('https');
const fs = require('fs');
const path = require('path');
const express = require('express');
const cors = require('cors');

const corsOptions = {
   origin: 'https://editor.construct.net'
};

// You will need to use openssl or some Windows app
// to generate your own self-signed cert files. C3
// developer mode plugin loading will NOT work in Http
// mode. Plugin server must be Https
const serverOptions = {
   key: fs.readFileSync('./key-20171101-071835.pem'),
   cert: fs.readFileSync('./cert-20171101-071835.crt'),
   requestCert: false,
   rejectUnauthorized: true
};

const app = express();
app.use(cors(corsOptions));
// Put testing and non-plugin static content in this folder
app.use('/static', express.static(path.join(__dirname, 'static')));

// Put all plugin related code and static content in this folder
// Put each plugin in its own folder like: /plugin/mytestplugin1/
// In C3 addon manager, in developer mode, load plugin like...
//      https://localhost:49200/plugin/mytestplugin1/addon.json
app.use('/plugin', express.static(path.join(__dirname, 'plugin')));

const port = process.env.PORT || 49200;
https.createServer(serverOptions, app).listen(port, function () {
   console.log('Construct 3 plugin server running. Listening on port: ' + port);
});
B
14
S
4
Posts: 297
Reputation: 1,637

Post » Sun Nov 05, 2017 3:17 pm

Just thought you might be interested:

Some time ago I made a Construct Addon Assistant tool which soon after have been contributed by @Armaldio 's features.

With one command it generates both c2addon and c3addon.

It basically uses the c2 addon files as a base and then upon "updating" it converts it to c3 addon with @blackhornet 's converter.

Makes plugin dev life much more comfortable.
ImageImageImage
B
28
S
16
G
82
Posts: 1,030
Reputation: 45,804

Post » Sun Nov 05, 2017 3:47 pm

@BackendFreak Ok, that's very interesting. I'll definitely check that out. Thanks for posting! :-)
B
14
S
4
Posts: 297
Reputation: 1,637

Post » Fri Nov 10, 2017 3:57 pm

I will need some plugin developers to test an IDE I'm creating for C3 plugins. Technically, it removes all the hassle to write your plugin in json format and does the work for you. It is not ready but getting there. I'll take 2 or 3 people to get the app for free against testing and reporting.

If interested, please PM me. Again, it's not ready but should become stable within a few weeks

construct3-plugin-ide_t197463

Image

Image

Image
B
34
S
12
G
3
Posts: 233
Reputation: 4,490

Previous

Return to Plugin SDK

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests