Construct becomes sluggish, then freezes after 10-15min

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:25 am

Problem Description
A Strange problem which I have always had with Construct 2. I have bought it through Steam, and it doesn't matter which project I am running, or which computer I use. I usually tend to use two computers, an overclocked i5 @ 4Ghz with a nvidia GTX 960. The other computer is a slightly under-powered laptop with an AMD A4-5000 APU. The result is always the same. At first, Construct and the level design tool works flawlessly at ~60fps, after a couple of minutes (10-15) it becomes super slow. the core i5 with GTX960 is still manageable at the first stage of slowdown, while the AMD A4-5000 APU is having trouble producing a responsive environment. after a while Construct goes into the next stage which is make the i5 sluggish, almost unusable. While the A4 freezes the environment with momentary responsive states. (I have managed to save the project by clicking the save-button constantly during a time span of 1 minute)

UPDATE - Workarounds
Throughout the discussion in this thread a couple of workarounds have surfaced.
[list=]turn off the auto-save function. Risky thing to do, but as long as you save your work often manually it shouldn't be a problem.
Disable Steam In-game Overlay either, even though I haven't experienced any improvement.
Minor slow-downs in the front-end is seem to get solved by Minimizing and maximizing the main window
[/list]

UPDATE II - Problem solved?
I can see that many turn to this thread whenever there are UI performance issues. However, I think they derive quite a bit from the original behavior where Construct 2 as a editor became increasingly sluggish until a state of complete "freeze". From my experience, this issue is fixed. Ashley's latest replies state:

Ashley wrote:Well I think we can chalk this one up to the icons and Windows GDI weirdness then. If you have a large project and the editor becomes sluggish after a while, it seems the new icon caching mode is a workaround.

Ashley wrote:Does the new option to completely disable unique icons in r229 help? (it reverts all Sprite/Tiled Background etc to their plugin icons)
It might be GDI playing up again. It's a pretty crappy part of Windows.

TheRealDannyyy wrote:So far so good, no sluggishness at all.
It seems to work better now but I will still give it some time and share the results at the end of the month again.
@Ashley thanks for this surprising update, I really didn't expect that.


Attach a Capx
I know that a capx is a must, but this issue is not related to a specific project

Description of Capx
none

Steps to Reproduce Bug
I know that this is the worst kind of bug to reproduce, I would love to have some guidance on how to give you more information on this matter. The strange thing is that the same bug occurs in similar manners in two completely different hardware environments independent of project and project size. The problem has been around since I bought Construct 2 through Steam. I think it was release 186. I'm thinking of downloading the free version and install it stand alone in order to see if I can reproduce it outside my steam license. I have actually managed on working with my game by saving and closing the application every 10 minutes.

  • Step 1 - Open the level designer and populate designer with 2D objects and drag them around
  • Step 2 - Wait and do nothing during a period of 10-20 minutes. Pan around the layout in order to determine when the slowdowns begin
  • Step 3 - Continue to wait, in my experience the sluggishness starts in two stages that are quite distinguishable in terms of speed/sluggishness

Observed Result
The application freezes, When looking at the task manager, the application doesn't show any excessive CPU-usage, no unexpected I/O-operations or excessive RAM-usage. The only thing that is looking odd during freezes is a 0.1MB/s disk writes from both Steam and Construct.

Expected Result
That the application should work flawlessly. :)

Affected Browsers
    Chrome: NO,
    FireFox: NO,
    Internet Explorer: NO
I use chrome as my default browser and haven't witnessed any difference using the others.

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 7 (latest updates) tested by @TheRealDannyyy
Windows 8.1n 64-bit (Latest updates)
Windows 10n 64-bit (Upgrade from Windows 8.1n)

Construct 2 Version ID
Version 212.2 (64-bit) Personal License (Steam Version)
Last edited by g3nki on Tue Jul 12, 2016 1:31 pm, edited 11 times in total.
Currently working on "Unsung" - an open world platform adventure for PC and Consoles. follow me on Instagram :D
B
18
S
2
G
2
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1,230

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 10:26 am

the only time i had problems with C2 having problems loading files or after a while to get sluggish, is when i was doing very weird and large event sheets, or have over 500 objects in the editor... while you are using C2, is there a chance that in those 10-15 minutes to add to many stuff in the visual editor? and maybe have like 1 event sheet that contains a very big amount of actions in it? like above 200? 500 ? and all on same condition like OnStartOfLayout lets say? even if its not running if you copy to many actions into 1 conditions, when youl open that project youl experience a very slow editor mode performance.... and for the objects in the editor, i think its more about the GPU not being updated... but if those are not your problem... then it might be a bug caught with ur last installation if you interrupted it, or reinstalled it wrong something might happen... i dont know really ... just saying hope it helps you
B
70
S
20
G
67
Posts: 1,316
Reputation: 42,305

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:19 pm

gamecorpstudio wrote:the only time i had problems with C2 having problems loading files or after a while to get sluggish, is when i was doing very weird and large event sheets, or have over 500 objects in the editor... while you are using C2, is there a chance that in those 10-15 minutes to add to many stuff in the visual editor? and maybe have like 1 event sheet that contains a very big amount of actions in it? like above 200? 500 ? and all on same condition like OnStartOfLayout lets say? even if its not running if you copy to many actions into 1 conditions, when youl open that project youl experience a very slow editor mode performance.... and for the objects in the editor, i think its more about the GPU not being updated... but if those are not your problem... then it might be a bug caught with ur last installation if you interrupted it, or reinstalled it wrong something might happen... i dont know really ... just saying hope it helps you


Thank you for your reply gamecorpstudio. I actually only have three event sheets within the project. Two of these are empty but both include the third event sheet, which has 56 events in it, and about three times more subevents (with actions). The eventsheet is is created for character movement as well as Keyboard-, touch- and gamepad controls. (with a couple of extra things for run-toggle, wall-jump etc)

It really doesn't matter which layout I have active, this sluggishness happen anyway. It can get sluggish even if I don't interact with the level editor or add items. At the time being I use a maximum of ~200 graphical instances per layout, and a total of 111 graphical objects within the whole project.

I started a new project. Zero events within the event sheet, added about 5 graphical objects, 25 instances of these objects on two layers. I timed the issue and it took 18 minutes. same thing. The only difference now was that it wasn't a two-stage phenomena, it went from silky smooth to almost a complete application freeze. (I was able to save and close, but it took a couple of minutes). Task manager tells me 0% CPU 137,9MB of Memory usage, 0,1MB/s of disk-writes (that's a bit odd, but Steam is showing the same amount of disk writes).

I will try on my desktop computer when I get home in about two days, and see what I can find. I will install a fresh "free" version of Construct 2 tonight on the laptop, and see if I can come across the same problem with a different license. I will install Construct on a third system this evening as well. A Pentium G3220 with Radeon 7870.

I usually upgrade to the latest graphics drivers, and in light of this, the issue has been ongoing for several months and over several iterations of graphics drivers and Construct 2 versions. (I haven't used Construct that much, I am currently focusing on creating graphical assets, but I use the engine to see how everything fit together visually).

I really love the way Construct 2 works, but this issue is killing my creative spark. :cry:
Last edited by g3nki on Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Currently working on "Unsung" - an open world platform adventure for PC and Consoles. follow me on Instagram :D
B
18
S
2
G
2
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1,230

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 2:23 pm

Update: I have tried 212.2 free edition for about 2 hours now. Works flawlessly. I have loaded my larger project in the free edition and it doesn't show any sign of struggle (except the lack of functionality). Could it have something to do with Steam- or individual license?
Currently working on "Unsung" - an open world platform adventure for PC and Consoles. follow me on Instagram :D
B
18
S
2
G
2
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1,230

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 4:38 pm

Can you not download the license from your account here on scirra and try that ?

I am not to sure steam account holders have that, but I can download and import my license from: Scirra store >> bottom left, your downloads, then in this list is my scirra license, which I can download.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,562

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 4:52 pm

lennaert wrote:Can you not download the license from your account here on scirra and try that ?

I am not to sure steam account holders have that, but I can download and import my license from: Scirra store >> bottom left, your downloads, then in this list is my scirra license, which I can download.

Steam licenses are NOT compatible with standard licenses, which means the steam license cannot be downloaded from scirra, and vice versa.
Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
52
S
22
G
18
Posts: 2,122
Reputation: 17,093

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 5:02 pm

Aphrodite wrote:
lennaert wrote:Can you not download the license from your account here on scirra and try that ?

I am not to sure steam account holders have that, but I can download and import my license from: Scirra store >> bottom left, your downloads, then in this list is my scirra license, which I can download.

Steam licenses are NOT compatible with standard licenses, which means the steam license cannot be downloaded from scirra, and vice versa.


Thanks for clearing that up ^_^

I was under the impression the only thing that was different with a steam account was the way construct was/is installed.
Who dares wins
B
57
S
17
G
21
Posts: 1,878
Reputation: 19,562

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 7:13 pm

Thank you guys. Buying Construct through Steam was probably the worst thing I could've done. I can't open a game while having Construct up 'n running. I can't start Construct without starting Steam, which is depressingly limiting. I wished I could've traded my Steam-license for a normal one. But unfortunately that seem impossible.

I would actually buy a new personal license through Scirra store if I knew that it would solve the matter at hand

I installed Windows 10 on the laptop this evening. Unfortunately that didn't resolve the matter either, same issue through the Individual License (Steam) and a completely new project, still no problem with the "free edition" both with a new project and the project I have been working on.

I can't be the only one experiencing this issue? or am I?
Currently working on "Unsung" - an open world platform adventure for PC and Consoles. follow me on Instagram :D
B
18
S
2
G
2
Posts: 50
Reputation: 1,230

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 7:31 pm

A similar type of issue was reported in january and Ashley responded with the following:

The Steam version is effectively identical to the standalone version, the only difference is in how it determines if it's licensed. So it would be odd if there is any difference. I just tested it with the Steam version as well and I can't reproduce any problem there either. If you download the free edition from our site is that affected as well? (That would establish if the problem is Steam-specific or not)


As you have now determined that the issue is likely the Steam Client, maybe Ashley can investigate further.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
131
S
29
G
81
Posts: 5,328
Reputation: 56,630

Post » Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:43 pm

I have the same issue still in the recent r212.2 version of C2.
To be honest it never really annoyed me "that" much,
I usually minimize and open the C2 window and the lags or freezes are mostly gone after doing that.
ImageImageImageImage
B
56
S
21
G
77
Posts: 636
Reputation: 43,961

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests