Construct can't handle many animations at once?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 3:05 pm

Hi, I just recently updated construct from r139 to r141, and all of a sudden the game I'm working on is consistently freezing up for 1-3 seconds at a time whenever a lot of animations are triggered at once.

This has never happened before, even when I haven't touched the code regarding the animations in a long time. Does anyone experience the same problems after the update? This has completely broken my game, since dynamic animations are triggered in the environment almost constantly. Everything else about my game has stayed the same, only the most vital part (several animations being triggered at once) has been broken.

I'm just asking if anyone knows if the internal animation systems has been changed around in the latest update?

Screenshot of event in question: http://puu.sh/42Kd9.png
I've done tests for myself and it's this event I've tracked the issue down too. This problem only happened once I updated to r141.

ThanksTinimations2013-08-15 16:19:16
B
35
S
10
Posts: 390
Reputation: 3,278

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 3:42 pm

There was a change in 141 with animations and time scale. Must be related to that.
[quote]
Bug Fix
Sprite: animations would sometimes advance a frame sooner than they ought to when changing the timescale
[/quote]
B
55
S
29
G
19
Posts: 1,520
Reputation: 25,680

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 3:48 pm

I just tested it out, and the problem still persists even after deleting the time scale actions. The issue is also present on layouts where the waveocean objects doesn't exist.

In fact I also tried to disable all the animations, while keeping the timescale events on. This made the game run smooth again. It's linked to the triggering of normal animations!Tinimations2013-08-15 15:50:38
B
35
S
10
Posts: 390
Reputation: 3,278

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:26 pm

You're setting the animation to "Pulse" on like 12 objects at once, 60 times a second.
That's probably why it's lagging.

Try putting "Trigger only once" below the Condition.

B
10
S
3
Posts: 233
Reputation: 1,537

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 5:58 pm

I did, nothing changed. The value only stays at 1 for 0.05 seconds anyways.

Edit: Also as previously stated, this code has worked flawlessly for the last 3 months! of active development. This is the result of a recent change to construct.Tinimations2013-08-15 18:06:08
B
35
S
10
Posts: 390
Reputation: 3,278

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 9:55 pm

without a capx it's hard to look into
maybe help us to help you by giving a capx
B
42
S
12
G
6
Posts: 136
Reputation: 6,397

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 10:17 pm

Not that I mind or anything, but it's pretty huge. The backup capx is closing in on 1gb soon.

The reason why I also don't think it's my code that's the issue, is that this has never been a problem up until today, and I've been working on the game 4-10 hours almost daily for months. The only change I've made from yesterday's build when it worked without issues to today was editing some sound effects for a couple of layouts. I don't see the connection between those changes and the laggy result.

I know this isn't helping, but I am convinced this is an issue with the r141 update.
B
35
S
10
Posts: 390
Reputation: 3,278

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 10:57 pm

ok well sorry I wasn't more assistance
best of luck
B
42
S
12
G
6
Posts: 136
Reputation: 6,397

Post » Thu Aug 15, 2013 11:42 pm

1 GB?! damn!
B
12
S
3
G
1
Posts: 347
Reputation: 2,866

Post » Fri Aug 16, 2013 12:30 am

Or well actually it was closer to 500mb when saved out. My bad. Still not something I can just casually share.

@DrGreenThumbCAN: Thanks!
B
35
S
10
Posts: 390
Reputation: 3,278

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests