Construct Classic is "officially" dead?

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sun Feb 05, 2012 7:25 pm

I get it rather randomly while testing my game, either when the player dies (and the layout is reloaded) or when occasionally switching. I haven't noticed any patterns, but I know smashing the Q key to restart for a minute almost NEVER makes it crash.
B
12
S
4
G
4
Posts: 238
Reputation: 2,426

Post » Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:09 pm

I enjoy hearing, er, seeing, discussions that Classic is not dead. I have not tried any plugins yet. Need to find their locations and gander at them some time.

Question about the one-day-in-the-future update for Classic. Will Classic come up with a notification that an update is available for download? If not, how would we all know about it? Email? Forum?

Thank you.
B
5
S
1
G
1
Posts: 157
Reputation: 1,219

Post » Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:24 pm

We just released Classic r2, which hopefully will dispel any fears it's dead. I'll turn on the autoupdate notification after a few days, just to make sure there's nothing wrong with the new build.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,518

Post » Sun Feb 05, 2012 9:35 pm

Classic R2...just downloading !

Thanks guys.
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,205
Reputation: 7,298

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:21 pm

As for the layout trasition crash, it happens sometimes with me, and i think it is something with events/behavior being executed at the same time that the trasintion is called, the bug never happened when i have everything stopped.
So kayin, before doing the trasition, try stop everything that is happening on the layout and test it and tell me if it works.Metal_X2012-02-07 20:31:11
B
22
S
7
G
5
Posts: 90
Reputation: 3,430

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:39 pm

Im not at home to test, and busy with crunchtime on another project at the moment, but you reminded me @metal_x someone else mentioned that in another thread. I have a theory, and there's an easy way to test it. Its a shot in the dark, but if someone has a moment to try, it'd be helpful

Make two layouts, and on each layout have only one object, and have the object doing something in an 'always' condition.   They should be two different object types, and they should each be doing something the other object cannot do, like one be a canvas object clearing the canvas, and the other a text object setting text, for instance. If im right it should crash everytime you change layouts with a transition. If this doesn't work, I have a second theory, for this one add more objects to one layout than the other, and use the objects you added last to be doing those 'always' actions...

I uave one more idea, but ill have to look at the actual code to choose which two actions to make the objects do to crash it.lucid2012-02-07 20:45:09
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:13 pm

When I put one object on one layout doing something "always" and then one object on a second layout doing something "always," I could switch back and forth without a problem.

When I added a second object always doing something in the second layout, Construct crashed.

I tried on 2 projects so far and both did it.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 21
Reputation: 617

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 9:42 pm

not crashing for me rook, could you dropbox the two projects?
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:00 pm

k just an update for anyone who was trying that stuff. none of my theories were right. keep me up to date if you can figure out what conditions cause crashes
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:02 pm

Nevermind. I think I crashed it cause I was putting things in the Always condition that should never, ever, go there. Hehe.
B
6
S
1
Posts: 21
Reputation: 617

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests