Construct crashes immediately upon loading event sheets

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Nov 11, 2015 2:57 pm

Tinimations wrote:@zenox98 Unticking cache actually worked! Love you man!


errrr steady now ;/
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
86
Posts: 5,415
Reputation: 59,516

Post » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:47 pm

Tinimations wrote:@zenox98 Unticking cache actually worked! Love you man!


Good news!
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Wed Nov 11, 2015 7:03 pm

Wow, 800mb compressed? I was going to suggest that you were just running out of memory... but if disabling the icon cache fixes it, that's the Windows limit of 10,000 graphics objects per process :P
Scirra Founder
B
397
S
236
G
88
Posts: 24,422
Reputation: 194,558

Post » Wed Nov 11, 2015 7:32 pm

@Ashley That still doesn't know why it worked on the inferior computer just fine (which was nealy reformated), but not on the main setup. A conflict with cache or pre-saved data sounds more legit. Construct uses roughly 1gb of ram when working on Klang.
B
33
S
10
Posts: 377
Reputation: 3,195

Post » Wed Nov 11, 2015 8:16 pm

I don't know about one compute vs another, but don't worry--you're not the only one who must run their project with the cache unticked ;-) I can open it last I tried, but it will soon run into massive problems. The downside is the editor is slower without the cache, but that's still quicker than reloading regularly.
B
103
S
38
G
19
Posts: 962
Reputation: 17,996

Post » Wed Nov 11, 2015 8:27 pm

1 or 2 days ago my project worked fine. On 11 nov I installed 14 windows system updates, rebooted my WIn7 laptop and my project could not load. Windows said in my language that C2 stopped and could not resolve the issue.
I tested another (small) project and that project worked.

This is what I did:
- installed the latest version of C2
- restarted computer
- tried again: crash upon loading
- changed standard program for .capx to notepad
- changed standard program for .capx back to C2
No more crash O.O

No idea what happened... ^^;;;;
B
28
S
6
G
7
Posts: 678
Reputation: 5,676

Previous

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mihirolover, zenox98 and 18 guests