Construct Crashes too much

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:34 am

Ive been having this problem for some time now,v99.96 crashes more than ever now,And the editor is really slow.the crash produces a temp.exe error.Could someone please tel me how this can be fixed.

It's random crashes so i cannot recreate the problem.I know it's not my pc because it's way over the specs that construct needs.Ive tried v99.96 on two different pc's one with xp and one with Win7,the Winxp pc crashes the most.

The performance of the editor is horrible.Moving and placing a sprite goes at a snails pace.I have tried other game engines and they work without any troubles or performance losses.Is there a way that i can delete this temp.exe? so that cs can create a new temp.exe.
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 9:44 am

I only think its about graphic card driver. I have quite old PC with XP Sp3 also I downloaded newest DirectX, Framerks 3,4, XNA frameworks and I never have any crashes of Construct. I use quite old graphic driver (I don't need Crysis...), so maybe you can change driver for your video card, and check again? And use some cleaning tools - Advanced System Care (free) and Auslogics Boostspeed ($). CCleaner is good too!

Some time ago I used some newest drivers from nVidia (16X.XX I think), and performance on some stricte 2D games (like Zen-Ichi or Patriot Dark) are horrible! Then I installed some old drivers (94.XX) and everything works like a charm!
B
3
S
1
G
2
Posts: 30
Reputation: 885

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:28 am

yea it crashes alot..
and it's nothing about graphic driver in my guess.. i have a really simple graphic card with updated driver and it crashes too in some occasions.
B
30
S
6
G
5
Posts: 433
Reputation: 6,061

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 3:12 pm

Found the problem.Winxp sux bigtime,It was a corrupt temp.exe file.Now it works,well sort of it's still going really slow when i try to use more sprites,Im at 100 sprites at the moment 32x32 size.It uses 48% cpu power and takes up 98 megs of system ram.My cpu aint slow either its an intel i7 cpu.Ive got 8gigs of system ram and my card has 4GB on board memory.Seems like overkill ,but it's standard if you want to create udk games and mods.

If i only knew why the program goes into snail mode when i use a mere 100 sprites,The previous versions didn't have these probs.
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141

Post » Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:00 pm

[quote="DravenX":2esz922j]Found the problem.Winxp sux bigtime,It was a corrupt temp.exe file.Now it works,well sort of it's still going really slow when i try to use more sprites,Im at 100 sprites at the moment 32x32 size.It uses 48% cpu power and takes up 98 megs of system ram.My cpu aint slow either its an intel i7 cpu.Ive got 8gigs of system ram and my card has 4GB on board memory.Seems like overkill ,but it's standard if you want to create udk games and mods.

If i only knew why the program goes into snail mode when i use a mere 100 sprites,The previous versions didn't have these probs.[/quote:2esz922j]


----------------------------------------------------------------------------

Why is c.p.u it at 48% ? 100 sprites doesnt sound alot !
If you build and release a game and the user's P.C is is well below your P.C'S spec wont it
just crash their machine.
Im still using 99.62 and it never crashes or has speed issues. I am going to have to try 99.96
beacause 99.62 wont load the window transparency caps that have beeb posted.(Python)
B
19
S
6
G
7
Posts: 1,206
Reputation: 7,300

Post » Tue Dec 07, 2010 6:31 am

dude something wrong with your construct...
i made some testgames to see how much the PC can handle, memory, pc usage, etc...

3000 objects(sprites) in the visible screen with 50+fps
640x480 window..

quad core, 4gb
B
30
S
6
G
5
Posts: 433
Reputation: 6,061

Post » Tue Dec 07, 2010 9:03 am

any gfx card with 4gigs on-board ram is over $1000, why not splurge on an extra copy of win7 instead of using a high end system on an ancient operating system?
Spriter Dev
B
87
S
21
G
12
Posts: 3,240
Reputation: 16,461

Post » Tue Dec 07, 2010 10:58 am

Lucid i have 2 pc's remember.One with Xp and one with Win7.Both have the same specs but with two diff op systems for testing purposes.Im going to upgrade to a quad fx card soon seeing that im going to do alot of cg animations next year.But i have solved the prob,Winxp had some corrupt dx drivers and i reloaded a fresh copy of winxp,The editor runs smooth again and no random crashes so far.In our currency a 4 gig card costs about R10000.00 each.

I have these high specs cause im a freelance commercial artist.I used to work on a mac for the animations.Even on these "high Spec" pc's they still lag when it comes to creating serious cg animations.
B
22
S
3
G
6
Posts: 1,356
Reputation: 7,141


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests