Construct is VERY VERY DANGEROUS

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:03 pm

I spent lot of time on making a turret defence engine, with all the kind of nifty stuff like damage, range and rate of fire. I changed some events in the event editor and Construct started to beep. I closed without saving. When I try to reopen my .cap, it says that it's "Unable to access a file without name after it's end."

Now what? I'm fu****. I gotta start all from beginning. Or else, Ashley can you do something if I send you the cap?
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 512
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:16 pm

You can't edit cap yourself?
B
4
S
2
G
4
Posts: 719
Reputation: 2,938

Post » Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:36 pm

Send the .cap to ashley@scirra.com, I might be able to do something about it. Do you remember the last thing you did?
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:38 pm

I changed the sprite in a event by double-clicking on it's icon. Also, ashley, do you have MSN, so we can exchange things more easily? Sending the cap in a second.
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 512
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:40 pm

I've PM'ed you.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:42 pm

Perhaps setting up a Construct IRC channel?
B
20
S
5
G
6
Posts: 32
Reputation: 2,769

Post » Sun Feb 03, 2008 10:43 pm

Someone else could, but I don't have the time to hang around on it much. I'd stop by from time to time if somebody set one up though.

Also, remember before 1.0, there could be bugs like this that wreck things... I'm really sorry and I know how frustrating it is, but it can happen in beta software :P (and even occasionally in "stable" software). Don't forget to keep your own backups too, in all situations!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Mon Feb 04, 2008 6:44 am

I have four copied backup version of Phys-Box, every time I close Construct I always copy them from the original before I go do something else.
I usually don't have to go back more than a few minutes if something does mess up, and usually it's something from my system (Vista seems to like failing to access my hard drive every few hours or so when I have too many things running, causing insta-bluescreen)
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1,735

Post » Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:19 pm

Ashley, fixed the cap?
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 512
Reputation: 2,674

Post » Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:04 pm

I replied to your email.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests