Construct Mentor

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 9:39 am

hi, i am still new to construct and i really want to learn how to using it.
even after following some tutorial, i still barely understand how to make my game.
i dont know about programming, and sometimes the template give me such "weird" code for me, like :

"Create object Turret on layer Game at (round((Touch.X - 16) / 32) * 32 + 16,round((Touch.Y - 16) / 32) * 32 + 16)"

i am so confused about that formula. my friend said its simple algebra, but i still dont get it.
i am curious about mentor in this forum, like not mentoring new user everyday, but more like weekend? and give such good direction on what things should i learn to make my game. if anyone in this forum can help me, i am really glad. :)
B
S

Post » Wed Mar 30, 2016 2:07 pm

Yes, expressions can be a bit tricky at the beginning. Don't be scared, because you'll get the hang of them pretty fast. I'd suggest you make a simple game using just plain simple numbers for your first game (for ex.: Create object Turret on layer Game at 320;450).
B
S
G

Post » Thu Mar 31, 2016 8:36 am

glerikud wrote:Yes, expressions can be a bit tricky at the beginning. Don't be scared, because you'll get the hang of them pretty fast. I'd suggest you make a simple game using just plain simple numbers for your first game (for ex.: Create object Turret on layer Game at 320;450).

i made like one level before of platformer game. it went pretty good (for me). now i have idea to create a simple turret defense game, but sometimes i dont know what to do with the code like i make 2 route for enemy to reach the castle and i make route b is more shorter than route a. i want to enemy a to choose route a, but sometimes it just went to route b. well, i just need someone who can lead me to right knowledge so i can make a progress to my game
B
S

Post » Fri Apr 01, 2016 1:23 am

Read this:
yeah, i really like to say that you should "Read this:"
B
S