Construct switches current project to its Autosave at random

Report Construct 2 bugs here.

Post » Wed Feb 04, 2015 2:28 pm

Problem Description
I am working on a rather large project, which is saved as a full project, not single file. Every so often, I see that the open project in the title is changed from ProjectName to ProjectName.capx.autosave. Any future saves from that point overrides the autosave, and not the main project file.

This is really annoying because if I close Construct and open ProjectName, then all the changes are lost, and it overrides the autosave too, so I can't open that any more. There is a ProjectName.capx.capx.autosave as well, so I can recover some of my latest work that way.

I am using Git with SourceTree for backup, so it may have something to do with this, not being able to open ProjectName.caproj because it's in use and switching to the autosave automatically without no error message?

Attach a Capx
not relevant

Description of Capx
not relevant

Steps to Reproduce Bug
Seems to happen at random, have not noticed a pattern. May be related to using GIT to back up the project while having Construct open? Or .caproj being in use while an autosave is made?

Observed Result
Active project switches to its autosave.

Expected Result
Active project remains the active project?

Affected Browsers
not relevant

Operating System and Service Pack
Windows 7 SP1

Construct 2 Version ID
Version 195 (64 bit)


Any ideas what I can do to avoid this?
B
5
S
1
Posts: 14
Reputation: 401

Post » Tue Feb 10, 2015 3:25 pm

There is very little we can do about random issues - we need steps to reproduce, or an example file. Is there anything else you can provide?
Scirra Founder
B
378
S
219
G
84
Posts: 23,854
Reputation: 187,881

Post » Wed Feb 11, 2015 2:12 pm

I know it is vague, sorry :(

I can tell you it is actually not from Git, as it does this even when git is not active. It may be if you click or change something while it's autosaving, but since the program is mostly frozen, it doesn't always work.

I will experiment with it some more and if I find steps to reproduce it, I'll let you know. I just posted it here for reference and to see if anyone else experienced it.

Thanks for reading though!
B
5
S
1
Posts: 14
Reputation: 401

Post » Wed Feb 11, 2015 4:23 pm

Hey, that sounds familiar to me... Some time ago, I was working on a project. I changed/added something and saved. When I opened the file next time, all my changes were lost... Probably that was this problem, I didn't check .autosave file (I didn't know)...
“The best time to plant a tree is 20 years ago. The second best time is now.”
B
31
S
7
G
4
Posts: 380
Reputation: 4,524

Post » Wed Feb 11, 2015 10:41 pm

Well if you opened the project, the .autosave gets emptied anyway it seems. You'd need to check the backup, if anything...

Good to know I'm not the only one who experienced it though :)

I've disabled autosave for now, backup seems to work fine. Will play with this some more once I'm not on tight deadlines any more.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 14
Reputation: 401

Post » Tue Jul 21, 2015 3:09 pm

I've experienced this issue a few times on large projects but never been able to reproduce...
In my case I'm pretty sure it happened randomly at save time with or without versioning.
B
8
S
1
Posts: 18
Reputation: 485

Post » Mon Aug 10, 2015 3:09 pm

Thought I'd bump this as I'm having the same problem with a big project too. This is happening daily now, with the project randomly switching from a project to an autosave without any notice. I only realise when I notice the project title has changed. It's resulted in a lot of lost work.
B
11
S
3
Posts: 135
Reputation: 1,309

Post » Mon Aug 10, 2015 11:03 pm

How about if you guys disable autosave and backup from C2 settings? Will that keep you safe untill this issues is resolved?
B
21
S
11
G
6
Posts: 414
Reputation: 5,335

Post » Fri Aug 21, 2015 5:32 am

I've had the exact same issue occurring at random during autosaves. It seems to be COMPLETELY random, so providing steps to replicate isn't really feasible, sadly.

The issue started occurring with either r210 or r211, if that helps at all.
B
61
S
36
G
18
Posts: 486
Reputation: 16,367

Post » Sat Aug 22, 2015 4:29 pm

Yeah, me too a few times but I think only on big projects!
Every so often, I see that the open project in the title is changed from ProjectName to ProjectName.capx.autosave.
B
76
S
22
G
10
Posts: 641
Reputation: 9,973

Next

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests