Construct Vid Ad

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Sun Dec 28, 2008 5:19 pm

I haven't tried it myself, but I've heard FRAPS is good for DirectX video capture, which would suit Construct.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,951
Reputation: 178,578

Post » Sun Dec 28, 2008 5:23 pm

Fraps is probably the best bet, but be aware it won't record the IDE if you want to record that too.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2008 2:47 am

if youre going to use fraps this is important, how fast is your computers cpu?
when recording at 60fps in a pretty intensive game it WILL bog down a slow computer. my cpu is a dual 1.8 and it cant run many physics collisions while recording at 60fps half size in blobber. i think Sol would probably be the best person to use for recording the cpu intensive games judging by his rig :P .

and you can record inside the layout editor, its just a bit strange because of the way the its rendered.
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2008 11:13 am

I only got 1gb of ram.. Yea, it would be cool if others could record the games to clips - but that would make the point of me making the vid useless - at least I would be the one to arrange it though..
B
16
S
10
G
5
Posts: 255
Reputation: 3,934

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2008 3:58 pm

Give fraps a shot anyway, you don't know it doesn't work until you try it. Besides I would've thought the main bottleneck is the hard drive write speed since it generates so much data.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,951
Reputation: 178,578

Post » Mon Dec 29, 2008 10:36 pm

its written to the drive, but the main bottleneck is cpu speed, since it only seems to lag for me when recording things which use alot of CPU. like physics. if i record my game without physics going on theres no lag, once the physics turns up things get choppy

i doubt ram or write speed will be the problem.

try it out tho, it works wonderfully
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Thu Jan 15, 2009 8:52 pm

Hmm, so FRAPS didn't work out?
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 271
Reputation: 2,017

Post » Fri Jan 16, 2009 4:08 pm

I realized that the problem isn't in the softwae but in my workstation itself..
My specs is somehow average to below, 1g ram etc.. Maybe I'll get an upgrade or a new laptop on my graduation
B
16
S
10
G
5
Posts: 255
Reputation: 3,934

Previous

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests