Construct wont respond

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Sat Dec 03, 2011 7:38 pm

Hi there,
i got a big problem. It seems Construct crashes very often while creating my game.

Most the time, after editing an image or sprite, a few sliderbars appear near the object slider and Construct wont respond anymore. When i then try to click inside the Construct window a Alert-Windows-Sound comes up.

Iam using Win7 64bit.

Someone got an idea? This problem is very annoying and frustrating and i dont want to switch to mmf2 again

BTW: Nice work with Construct! siron2011-12-03 19:40:24
B
14
S
2
G
1
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,152

Post » Sat Dec 03, 2011 8:39 pm

You've encountered a rare memory leak that most people don't encounter. The only real option is to get in the habit of saving frequently, quitting and restarting. It's frusterating, I know - one of the many things fixed in construct 2.

Edit: If you post your .cap, you might be able to get r0j0hound or lucid to take a look at it, and maybe they could fix the problem.Arima2011-12-03 20:42:41
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Sat Dec 03, 2011 8:42 pm

@R0J0hound @lucid - any thoughts about this one? It happens with my game too.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:00 pm

Its like when i got a big Level open with many objects and create a new sprite this problem keeps showing up. Placing objects works fine. Editing most the time work fine, too. But sometimes creating new graphics it crashes like i wrote in the initial post
B
14
S
2
G
1
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,152

Post » Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:21 am

Yep, it's something to do with the image editor.
Moderator
B
88
S
32
G
33
Posts: 3,005
Reputation: 27,432

Post » Sun Dec 04, 2011 2:27 am

I had a totally different problem once, but it also was the image editor (couldn't edit anything anymore). That's why I propose to do the following (at least it can't hurt):

Navigate to your appdata-folder, look for the scirra folder and move (or delete) everything out of that folder, except for some third party files like the audiere.dll

Everything else will be created the next time you start Construct. I don't know if it will help in this case, just give it a try.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:25 am

I only found the Scirra dir here:
C:\Users\XXX\AppData\Roaming\Scirra

This one got an .exe and some other files in it. Its the compiled version it uses when your preview your layout.
B
14
S
2
G
1
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,152

Post » Sun Dec 04, 2011 12:19 pm

Well, I am working with WinXP, so there certainly are path differences, but yes, that's the content I was talking about.

Construct.ini
data.bin
Data.zip
Python.zip
Python26.dll
(some TempX.exe files)
TempUpdate.txt
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Wed Dec 07, 2011 9:06 pm

Ok, there isnt a solution for this problem...
So my game goes into the trash :(
Over one month of work wasted...
B
14
S
2
G
1
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,152

Post » Thu Dec 08, 2011 11:55 am

Mhhhh.
I couldnt let my game go away ;)
So... I tried again.
And its working for an hour now without a crash. The only difference between the old Setup is:
I dont listen to music with the Windows Media Player.
And i dont have opened my Corel Draw.

For some reason this is the key to keep construct alive, even when editing and changing graphics and stuff.

Hooray!
B
14
S
2
G
1
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,152

Next

Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests