control copy vs clone

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Sep 04, 2013 7:48 pm

is this correct?:

when creating new objects with cloning you have a new "object" and when creating one with a control drag you create a new instance of an existing object?
thanks
B
8
S
3
G
1
Posts: 87
Reputation: 1,493

Post » Wed Sep 04, 2013 8:20 pm

@danno55 yes that is the way I understand it. Any changes you make at object level will effect all the instances. However you make changes to each instance on the layout.

What I have found a real frustration is when making a clone it seems to make it with default settings. So if you create a Sprite. Make modifications to the default settings and then clone it you lose all modifications made. Perhaps I have missed something so far.
B
13
S
4
Posts: 67
Reputation: 1,270

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 5:00 am

@AngelEyes: are you using the very latest C2 release ?
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
291
S
114
G
95
Posts: 7,293
Reputation: 70,144

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:06 am

1. Does it affect performance in any way?
2. If I change value of object that was created with ctrl+drag during runetime with SetValue will it affect all objects that were created similiar way from ctrl+drag of that particular object?
B
22
S
7
Posts: 94
Reputation: 1,783

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:23 am

Changing settings in the events will affect all picked instances of an object. You use the events to filter down which ones are picked.

If you have an event trigger on the touch of an instance, that single instance is picked, all others are ignored, so only it's values change.
B
233
S
62
G
33
Posts: 902
Reputation: 40,398

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:25 am

@Kyatric, I am using the latest stable release, r139. As I am fairly new to C2, I figured stick with the stable releases, so I am sure it is my fault and not the program, when I mess something up.
B
13
S
4
Posts: 67
Reputation: 1,270

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 4:25 pm

@AngelEyes: I can't remember exactly when this was introduced, but normally cloning an object type should not reset its properties/instance variables anymore.

I can confirm in r143, cloning an object keeps the values you modified at least for its behaviors.Kyatric2013-09-05 16:26:18
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
291
S
114
G
95
Posts: 7,293
Reputation: 70,144

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 6:44 pm

@Kyatric, thanks for the heads up. Maybe I will give r143 a bash. Can I install two versions alongside each other by choosing a different install directory, or will that give me clashes?
B
13
S
4
Posts: 67
Reputation: 1,270

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:55 pm

@AngelEyes: You can, no issue there.
Just be sure to manage the shortcuts appropriately for you.Kyatric2013-09-05 19:56:22
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image

Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
291
S
114
G
95
Posts: 7,293
Reputation: 70,144

Post » Thu Sep 05, 2013 7:59 pm

@Kyatric, thanks will give that a go.
B
13
S
4
Posts: 67
Reputation: 1,270

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests