convert html5 to ios

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Thu Sep 22, 2011 3:09 pm

Can i only convert html5 to ios using mac?
I found one program that would do this (phonegap for mac)
But i need a program for windows.
if you dont know a program that can do this for windows I maybe can find someone else thats using mac to do this for me.
btw if i use phonegap will I be able to sell my game on the appstore then?
B
14
S
4
G
2
Posts: 42
Reputation: 2,046

Post » Thu Sep 22, 2011 3:42 pm

We're still investigating how well PhoneGap works with Construct 2 HTML5 games ourselves. However, we haven't looked in to the iOS side yet. You do normally need a Mac to build an iOS app. However, PhoneGap also have a Build service - it costs $25/month (see here). PhoneGap Build claims to allow you to submit a HTML5 game, and they'll build an iOS app (and apps for some other kinds of phone too). However, I should warn you that we haven't tried this ourselves yet - we're planning to check it out soon. It might not work properly. If you're feeling adventurous though, give it a shot and let us know how it goes!

Once you have the app you can sell it on the App Store, but you'll also need to pay Apple's developer's fee ($99/year).Ashley2011-09-22 15:43:54
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:05 pm

@linkanbinkan

check out appmobi...harrio2011-09-22 19:05:49
B
52
S
17
G
15
Posts: 1,029
Reputation: 26,339

Post » Thu Sep 22, 2011 8:02 pm

thank you so #!?"# much
B
14
S
4
G
2
Posts: 42
Reputation: 2,046

Post » Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:06 pm

How the hell can apple have a "developer fee"? It pisses me off how they want to make money off of everything. It's just like XNA with microsoft.
B
18
S
4
G
1
Posts: 413
Reputation: 2,512

Post » Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:32 pm

Interesting that XNA and Apple iOS both have the same developer fee, but one releases for Phone/Console/PC, while the other is just mobile devices...Jayjay2011-09-22 21:33:29
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:37 pm

Have anyone made it work using appmobi?
It looked like it worked but then I tried it on my iPhone I got a black screen:(
And I don't know what to change to make it fullscreen. It's not fullscreen on the emulator but it maybe is if I get it to work on my iPhone.linkanbinkan2011-09-22 21:41:38
B
14
S
4
G
2
Posts: 42
Reputation: 2,046

Post » Thu Sep 22, 2011 9:48 pm

Right now it's probably best to go to AppMobi for support, we haven't tried it ourselves so they're the best people to help you there.

I think there tends to be a small developer fee for two reasons:
1) keep out 'script kiddies' who just want to mess around - they won't bother if it costs them money, and
2) keep out viruses and malware, since if anyone submits any, they've got the author's payment details which is a great place to track someone down!

TBH if you're serious about app development $99 isn't a big hurdle, it's more there to keep the wrong people out IMO.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:32 am

Ok. This is a little BS. It clearly states I can make iOS and Android apps. Now, I find this forum post that is instructing me to seek a third part for this? I was attempting to set my display configuration to iOS or Android, nothing. I need to get up from my desk and go kick a puppy now. Thanks gusy...
B
5
Posts: 32
Reputation: 789

Post » Thu Nov 08, 2012 1:23 am

@WildShroom - this thread is over a year old and its information is mostly irrelevant. Pretty much everything has changed since it was posted. You'll definitely want to use the CocoonJS or directCanvas exporters instead of PhoneGap.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 99Instances2Go, abdalghani, imothep85, LeFuji, makkancs, Marxally, Virpoja and 25 guests