Corrupted .capx

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Mon Sep 23, 2013 8:54 am

Link to .capx file (required!):
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/17914213/Shark_bait.capx

Steps to reproduce:
Open capx

Observed result:
"Error loading project"

Expected result:
Project should have loaded

Browsers affected:
N/A

Operating system & service pack:
Win7

Construct 2 version:
Release 139

Additional Information
I had run out of disk space on C: however the file was saved on D: which had plenty of free space. Drive C: now has 350 MB available, but the capx will not open.gbell122013-09-23 08:56:41
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 187

Post » Mon Sep 23, 2013 12:55 pm

your "Shark Bait.caproj" and "Shark Bait.uistate.xml" are NULL into your capx, 0 kbytes. Same for Layout.

your capx is very corrupted
B
38
S
13
G
4
Posts: 152
Reputation: 5,147

Post » Mon Sep 23, 2013 1:41 pm

The only thing that looks recoverable is the assets. Hopefully, you have used the backup options and have a .backup file that can be renamed.
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
134
S
30
G
84
Posts: 5,388
Reputation: 58,458

Post » Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:20 pm

Closing - I'm afraid we cannot do anything about projects that are already corrupt. We need the steps that caused the project to become corrupt in the first place to be able to do anything about it.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
233
G
88
Posts: 24,376
Reputation: 193,842

Post » Mon Sep 30, 2013 12:34 am

Yes, thankfully I had backups.

The steps to cause this were to make C:\ have 0 bytes available, but have the project file hosted on D:\, which had lots of free space.

Obviously, my bad for letting C: fill up, but that shouldn't have created a corrupted .capx since the .capx was on D:\ which had plenty of space.
B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 187

Post » Mon Sep 30, 2013 8:17 am

You should move your mydocument folder then to D:\ permantely and let C:\ be for windows/software etc
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Post » Mon Sep 30, 2013 5:02 pm

@gbell12

In linux and windows you can make Symbolic Links too, in case you accidently fill up a drive, and need to temporarily move a folder to another drive, without letting the application know you did anything fishy.

In linux there are a few ways to do it depending on your file manager. In Debian based distros there is a minimalistic (as in text only) window manager. Just do a :
sudo apt-get install worker

Windows has a CLI command or you can just use this handy gadget:
https://code.google.com/p/symlinker/

I use it after moving my steam, Desura, and Origin games on and off my tiny SSD.

If you want the CLI commands and summary of Junctions ,symlinks, and hardlinking, just google : +Symlink +Your Operating system.
B
29
S
8
G
4
Posts: 767
Reputation: 5,985

Post » Tue Oct 01, 2013 9:27 am

Thanks for the tips, guys, but I already had the project sitting on a drive with plenty of space.

The problem was the Construct 2 itself ran out of space for (I assume) temp files somewhere... AppData? ... and this caused it to corrupt my .capx upon writing it out.

B
3
Posts: 5
Reputation: 187


Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests