Could not open....

Bugs will be moved here once resolved.

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:09 pm

Hello I've just started work with Construct 2, but I can't load my saved projects. If I want to load them, I'll get this error



Here is the capx File

Any ideas?Brickerer2011-07-12 14:14:31
B
2
G
1
Posts: 8
Reputation: 541

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2011 2:54 pm

Hey,

I've had a look through the project and it looks like the last time it was saved it was interrupted before it finished. Event sheet 2's file went missing, and some other events looked like they'd been corrupted.

I'm not sure what happened. Can you remember what were you doing before the last time you pressed save? Were there any other error messages? If you used save-as, renamed any event sheets, or did anything in the project - there might be a bug in the software for one of those things.

It might happen again since C2 is beta software, so I hope you remember to keep backups! Just in case, I've managed to restore what looks like most of the project - you can download it here. Event sheet 2 went completely missing I'm afraid though, so is empty.

(Just a heads up, the project is already over 25mb in images alone - that's a couple of minutes download time for most people!)Ashley2011-07-12 15:04:10
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,948
Reputation: 178,532

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2011 3:21 pm

Ou. That event sheet was really hard. However I exported project to the final stance before it got corrupted. Can I somehow get it back from exported data?

Exported Data

Thanks for restoring BTW.Brickerer2011-07-12 15:24:30
B
2
G
1
Posts: 8
Reputation: 541

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2011 4:29 pm

Sorry, we don't have any good tools to reverse exported projects right now :( It would be best to focus on what went wrong so we can fix the bug and make sure it never happens again. Do you have any of that info on what you were doing/other error messages?

Don't forget to keep backups in future too. Sorry that you lost work.Ashley2011-07-12 16:30:52
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,948
Reputation: 178,532

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:22 pm

[QUOTE=Brickerer] Ou. That event sheet was really hard. However I exported project to the final stance before it got corrupted. Can I somehow get it back from exported data?

Exported Data

Thanks for restoring BTW.[/QUOTE]

If you open the exported javascript file and search for "eventsheets": all your events are there in a very verbose format. You can manually get your events back from that location.

Here's the first event of "event sheet 2" from 85 lines in c2runtime.js.

-> compareVar unit = 1
+ SetVar unit to 0
+ create Object player2 on layer 0 at (10,10)
+ player2 :destroy

You only have 30 events over 3 eventsheets so reading your exported events shouldn't take too long. After you've read them all it's simple to re-add the events into your c2 project in c2.
B
79
S
24
G
53
Posts: 4,728
Reputation: 40,219

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:26 pm

Thats a little worrying if you want to keep your game code protected.
Is there much in the way of security for html5 or construct2 generated code?
B
37
S
19
G
18
Posts: 613
Reputation: 10,231

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2011 8:33 pm

No, there's nothing which obfuscates it. There has always been this warning in exported HTML files:

[quote]     <!-- Note: Construct 2 does not currently employ any obfuscation techniques. As a result, you should assume that any game you publish can be reverse engineered to its editable Construct 2 project. -->[/quote]

Obfuscation can be done to better protect your exported projects. It's something on the todo list. There aren't any known decompilers, but if somebody made one, we'd immediately add some obfuscation techniques, which would make it wasted effort for the decompilers :)

By the nature of HTML5 it's very difficult to completely protect projects. Unfortunately, it's the nature of the platform that it's much easier to edit existing exported projects. We'll definitely do our best on obfuscation, though, we've got some neat tricks we can pull.Ashley2011-07-12 20:35:01
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,948
Reputation: 178,532

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2011 9:29 pm

Ok, nevermind, I'm doing that sheet again. And anyway it's a Freeware so that sometimes happens. And just one question. How can I set which layout will be first, when I start the game?Brickerer2011-07-12 21:43:53
B
2
G
1
Posts: 8
Reputation: 541

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2011 9:52 pm

[QUOTE=Brickerer]Ok, nevermind, I'm doing that sheet again. And anyway it's a Freeware so that sometimes happens.[/QUOTE]
We'll be introducing license options soon, so I'd be really interested if you could provide any of that extra info about what you were doing before the problem happened! I really want to fix this :)
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,948
Reputation: 178,532

Post » Tue Jul 12, 2011 10:01 pm

I got just that error massage. I didn't found more info. I just know that deleted event sheet was probably saved in temp and something deleted it. Now I saved it like project and I have those sheets untouchable.Brickerer2011-07-12 22:05:11
B
2
G
1
Posts: 8
Reputation: 541

Next

Return to Closed bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests