crash to desktop

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:34 pm

This strange bug has happened to me several times now: While working in an event sheet, all icons will suddenly turn into empty white boxes, and after a little while buttons start disappearing (like the buttons that let you switch between the layot editor and the event sheet editor) and Construct becomes unresponsive. One or more windows pop up and say "An invalid argument was encountered." Shortly afterwards the program will crash to desktop.

If I reopen the cap it will seem fine (even if I saved as my buttons were dissapearing). I can do some more work for like 5 minutes and then the bug will happen again.

Is this a problem with my .cap or with something else?

I can handle the truth, I have plenty of backups :)
B
3
G
4
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,133

Post » Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:47 pm

We fixed a GDI leak in the event sheet editor for the next build, so I think this should be fixed for 0.93. Let us know if you see it again after the next release!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Wed Mar 12, 2008 9:54 pm

That sounds like good news! :D (even though I have no clue what a "gdi leak" is :) )

Does this affect the .cap in any way though?
B
3
G
4
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,133

Post » Wed Mar 12, 2008 10:25 pm

You'll lose unsaved changes when it crashes - apart from that, hopefully your .cap should be fine - can't say for certain. Always a good idea to keep backups while Construct is in beta :P
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,949
Reputation: 178,544

Post » Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:36 am

This used to happen to me in 0.91, but it's gone for me now. As far as I can tell it does nothing harmful to the .cap, just save, close Construct and restart it when it starts happening.
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 130
Reputation: 1,735

Post » Thu Mar 13, 2008 4:12 pm

[quote="Drew Carey":39305yqm]This used to happen to me in 0.91, but it's gone for me now. As far as I can tell it does nothing harmful to the .cap, just save, close Construct and restart it when it starts happening.[/quote:39305yqm]

That's good news:) Thanks guys
B
3
G
4
Posts: 28
Reputation: 1,133


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests