Create Object (by name) [Feature Request]

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Mar 08, 2017 11:17 pm

It would be very useful to have an opportunity to create objects by name.

Long long ago Scirra had rejected this feature request because they did not know how to make this feature work with "minify script" option.

But now according to C3 news, they have already solved this problem, so it would be nice to see this feature also in C2, not only in C3.
B
44
S
18
G
33
Posts: 115
Reputation: 19,941

Post » Thu Mar 09, 2017 12:11 am

We entirely by accident showed this feature in the latest blog ;)

It wasn't really to do with the minification, it was mainly concerns around impact to reverse engineering, but we've done it for C3.
Scirra Founder
B
387
S
230
G
87
Posts: 24,249
Reputation: 192,240

Post » Thu Mar 09, 2017 1:04 am

Ashley wrote:but we've done it for C3.

Does this mean that it is now possible to add this feature to C2?
Should we hope?
B
44
S
18
G
33
Posts: 115
Reputation: 19,941

Post » Thu Mar 09, 2017 2:21 am

paradine wrote:
Ashley wrote:but we've done it for C3.

Does this mean that it is now possible to add this feature to C2?
Should we hope?


I doubt it will be in C2 but Create Object by name is really in the screenshot. A quick question, If I change the object name will it propagate on all the action calls using this? similarly to goto layout by name?

Image.
sleep is only for the weak!
B
88
S
30
G
12
Posts: 139
Reputation: 11,867

Post » Thu Mar 09, 2017 5:47 am

Nice feature!
That is the kind of things i love to see.
"The corners are rounded off" -> could totally become a meme
B
36
S
15
G
7
Posts: 49
Reputation: 6,266

Post » Wed Jul 12, 2017 8:35 am

@ashley

Are there any plans to add this to C2, since you've said it uses the same runtime?
B
70
S
40
G
24
Posts: 518
Reputation: 20,070


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests