Create Object By Name

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:15 pm

...Please?

I know that Construct 2 changes the names of objects on export to make it harder to reverse engineer the game and everything, but could it be optional? Like, a box you check at export?
I know about the workarounds but they are not always simple or even possible, and I've read many people who'd really like to have the "Create object by name" action back (since it was in Construct Classic).

+ 1 if you want it ?
B
11
S
3
G
3
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,379

Post » Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:24 pm

Kan wrote:...Please?

I know that Construct 2 changes the names of objects on export to make it harder to reverse engineer the game and everything, but could it be optional? Like, a box you check at export?
I know about the workarounds but they are not always simple or even possible, and I've read many people who'd really like to have the "Create object by name" action back (since it was in Construct Classic).

+ 1 if you want it ?


+1, this can be necessary for arcade games... but I still prefer to use one instance and use different animation/variables

anyway, in my opinion create object should stay by default with choose by name, because you have just to write the name of the object
B
21
S
9
Posts: 298
Reputation: 2,967

Post » Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:50 pm

It is not implemented because of the code obfuscation. I think objects get called internally only by there id and the name exists only in the editor for making development more easy.
B
11
S
2
Posts: 213
Reputation: 1,266

Post » Tue Feb 03, 2015 10:54 pm

Yes, that's what Ashley said. Still, if this could be changed at least optionaly, it'd be terribly great.
B
11
S
3
G
3
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,379

Post » Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:23 pm

B
110
S
28
G
280
Posts: 4,487
Reputation: 156,566

Post » Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:47 pm

There is a plugin that let's you do this. Check that section if you need it. I cant see this being in official support ever. And in the long run hopefully there will overall better ways to create and manage objects.
B
92
S
18
G
9
Posts: 2,455
Reputation: 15,113

Post » Wed Feb 04, 2015 4:59 am

I didn't remember this nickname plugin by Rex. But sill, you need an event for every object to give it a nickame, so it doesn't make a big difference from having an event for every object to be created. :-/
(Plus you can't give a different nickname to every object in a family differently using the "Assign nickname" action onto that family, even in a "for each" loop : it'll assign a nickname to the whole family instead)
No offense intended towards rexrainbow.
B
11
S
3
G
3
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,379

Post » Wed Feb 04, 2015 5:14 am

@Kan

You might assign the name in property table in rex_nickname behavior. It does not need any actions.
B
110
S
28
G
280
Posts: 4,487
Reputation: 156,566

Post » Wed Feb 04, 2015 3:42 pm

@rexrainbow
Thanks for your efforts (and for your many plugins, some of which I had already downloaded and will definitely use in the future :) ). I just tried it but I still can't figure to make it work the way I need it to. Here's an example of what I'm trying to achieve :
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
B
11
S
3
G
3
Posts: 206
Reputation: 2,379

Post » Thu Feb 05, 2015 3:48 am

@Kan

It works fine. I change "tap" to "touch start".
B
110
S
28
G
280
Posts: 4,487
Reputation: 156,566

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests