Creating a Sprite Strip for Tutorial

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Jan 09, 2013 1:04 am

I don't have access to the Jungle Pack presently, and according to the platform tutorial, it's calling for a particular sprite strip.

This is all rather new to me, so I'm trying not to rush into things and confuse myself. But it suddenly dawned on me that a sprite strip is just a single image file made up of individual frames...correct?

IF correct, then when importing a sprite strip and telling how many rows and columns there are, evenly cut sprites are "created"...also correct?

If it's that simple, then would it be safe to say I can just create my own sprite strip in, say, MS Paint to accommodate for the tutorial's requirements? (I'm trying to not stray from the beaten path lest I mess something up.)

I'm going to go ahead and try this as I suppose, and hopefully someone will have confirmation and/or further suggestions for me.

Thank you!
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
112
S
20
G
8
Posts: 741
Reputation: 13,636

Post » Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:03 am

Yep, correct. It's just a single image with all the frames laid out in grid fashion.

If you have 6x 64x64 images, you can lay them out how you want, 3x2 = 192x128, 6x1 (384x64), or even 1x6 (64x384) if you wanted. The importer just divides the image size by how many columns and rows you give it, thereby cutting the sprites precisely.

Any art software will do. It's all about how the frames are laid out, the size of the image, and the columns and rows you give the importer.
B
15
S
5
G
7
Posts: 877
Reputation: 5,650

Post » Wed Jan 09, 2013 3:28 am

You can also pretty much use any sprite sheet you find on the internet, as long as it is for your own testing/placeholder in early development.

Be sure to check the tools/resources forum, I remember having seen topics linking to such resources, be sure to have a search.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,999
Reputation: 57,793

Post » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:39 am

[QUOTE=procrastinator] Yep, correct. It's just a single image with all the frames laid out in grid fashion. ...[/QUOTE]
Thank for the confirmation. I actually just finished my very first animation sprite strip and it worked relatively without a hitch (a simple stick man spinning a bo staff...heh). I'm just hoping the Jungle Pack images weren't specific to the tutorial or I'm gonna have some problems...
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
112
S
20
G
8
Posts: 741
Reputation: 13,636

Post » Wed Jan 09, 2013 6:41 am

[QUOTE=Kyatric]You can also pretty much use any sprite sheet you find on the internet, as long as it is for your own testing/placeholder in early development.

Be sure to check the https://www.scirra.com/forum/tools-resources_forum34.html.[/QUOTE]
Thank you. I actually did see some of the content you're referring to, I believe, but they didn't quite answer my concern (I tend to look for very specific references...I can be nit-picky like that). They were related, but not exactly what I was after. Though, maybe I just missed such a reference. Ah well, all is good.
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
112
S
20
G
8
Posts: 741
Reputation: 13,636


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Matthew de, nexlove and 28 guests