Creating Expressions

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat May 18, 2013 1:51 am

I'm relatively new to Construct 2, so forgive me if I'm just overlooking the obvious.

Is it possible to write expressions in Construct 2? What I mean by that is, write a mathematical expression that returns a true or false value. I've looked around the tutorials on System Conditions, and also System Expressions, but couldn't find what I was looking for.

What I want to be able to do is add a life every time the player gets x amount of points. I was hoping to find a plugin that would allow me to resolve it to an expression, much like you would with an "if" statement;

if(Score % x == 0)
{ ... }

I could do it by storing a counter variable that increases with score, and then once it reaches x, add to score and reset the counter, but it seems a bit convoluted, if I could do the same task without the need for an additional variable.

I'm not sure if what I'm asking is possible. I haven't seen a plugin I can use to write expressions that can resolve to a true or false state. I'm just trying to ensure that I use Construct 2 as efficiently as possible.
B

Post » Sat May 18, 2013 1:59 am

you can compare two values in system conditions, and enter the expressions directly
https://www.scirra.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=152506

And that is why you shall respect the bug reports guidelines, not only giving a capx is making the bug reproductible in one click in a situation they can work with (less time wasted trying to reproduce vague instructions) but also it helps filtering false positives.

Game design is all about decomposing the core of your game so it becomes simple instructions.
B
S
G

Post » Sat May 18, 2013 2:15 am

Yes, that's exactly what I was looking for. I was expecting it to be something I could enter a single expression into, but I imagine the same thing can be achieved by chaining additional logical operators into the second value field.