Creating games with no art ability. How'd you do it ?

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
🙌 Ability Skill UI Sound Pack comes with 115 high-quality sound effects
  • My art skill is probably in the lowest 5% of the human population. Im not even exagerating here either it's just that bad. In my mind I have a beautiful game but getting it out of there is just impossible.

I have been working for the past 5-6 hours on my new game which I wanted to make, 6 hours later I have nothing to show for it and a wasted evening due to not even being able to make a stick man as a temp game place holder while I get the level design sorted.

Worst part is im a great coder, I can just see the code in my mind before I even start working on it and it flows through me.

How do you handle not having an artistic ability? I have tried Open game art but it's not really that good for game art as most of it is just the odd "upload" with art styles not matching. I want to actually share my games so the really bad "ripped and mixed" art looks very newbie.

• when i start making a game i just work with cubes and rectangles and stuff like that, just things that tell me everything is working as it should.

For later stages of development you might wanna consider outsource the art of the game.

or like a lot of devs do these days, go with a design solution instead of artwork. Keeping it minimal, but pretty.

• <= Made a few games already with no artistic talent. I am a very logical person, all my adult life was spent training in scientific research and got a PhD and went to work in research labs.

Didn't enjoy it any longer and decided to go after my first passion, games. I took time out to learnt how to draw (manga comics, youtube, lots of pencil & paper), animate and play with photoshop, illustrator for shading and effects. A few months later I started making characters for my first game, a Ninja RPG.