Creating Maximum Movement Indicators on a Board

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Sep 04, 2013 12:16 pm

Been busy with other things, I'll look into it when I got some time :)
B
24
S
9
G
7
Posts: 756
Reputation: 7,302

Post » Wed Sep 04, 2013 12:21 pm

Glad to hear it!

I'm the kind of person who doesn't like letting problems "go" so I can move on to other aspects of a project. Eventually the problems add up and a big headache will follow, so I will wait and try to decipher why some squares aren't being highlighted.

EDIT: Here's an idea.

Ignore walls initially, and highlight all possible squares a program can move to. Then remove the highlighting for squares that overlap a wall, and also remove highlighted squares that are not next to another highlighted square or the original program or one of its parts.

The last part is needed to prevent a single square beyond a wall from being highlighted simply because it is in range (but is not overlapping a wall).Excal2013-09-05 08:27:02
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,234

Post » Fri Sep 06, 2013 11:14 am

@cvp, how close is @vee41's implementation to what you had in mind?
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,234

Post » Sun Sep 08, 2013 1:24 am

@vee41, do you have skype? I'm going to go insane...
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,234

Post » Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:20 am

I've discovered something peculiar. There is a definite problem for the space to the right of another square, and I don't exactly know why.





This is the relevant code:



Time to figure out why...Excal2013-09-09 07:23:50
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,234

Post » Mon Sep 09, 2013 7:42 am

Remove the Animation frame != 3 line and it should work. Thanks for spotting the bug out :)
B
24
S
9
G
7
Posts: 756
Reputation: 7,302

Post » Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:11 am

Damnit @vee41, I was trying all sorts of complicated things and all you did was fix things by removing one line...
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,234

Post » Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:39 am

Well that was my mistake, so it was easier for me :)
B
24
S
9
G
7
Posts: 756
Reputation: 7,302

Post » Mon Sep 09, 2013 8:41 am

Lol, sounds like the hammer story. (Original is ship engine)

A business owner is horrified to discover one morning that her companys server is broken. Wont boot up, wont turn on. She calls a computer repair expert to come out and see what he can do.
The expert shows up, looks at the machine carefully, and even gives it a careful listen. He runs his fingers lightly on the side of the computer, and then taps it with a small hammer. The computer starts right up, the business owner is happy, and the expert goes away.

Two days later, the experts bill shows up. Computer repair, $500, it says.
The business owner calls up the expert, angry. $500?! All you did was tap the computer, and you charged me $500?! I need to see an itemized version of your bill, to see why you thought that was worth $500.
Two days later, the new bill arrives in the mail. Tapping the computer with a hammer, $1. Knowing where to tap it, $499.DUTOIT2013-09-09 08:42:30
You think you can do these things, but you can't, Nemo!
Just keep reading.
Just keep learning.
B
65
S
16
G
9
Posts: 1,429
Reputation: 12,708

Previous

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: brunopalermo and 17 guests