Critical problem - program closes on startup

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Jan 18, 2012 11:45 pm

Hello.
I was hoping to get the special price but I've been having this problem that probably won't be resolved in time. I don't know if there's any way to get an extension on that special pricing due to this strange unique issue or not...


Here's the problem:

Every time I launch the program, it displays for a split second and then closes immediately. I do not believe there any errors being displayed, though if there are any inside the program itself, it all loads and closes so fast that I wouldn't be able to tell.

Short version:
Program just closes immediately after launching.. I can see the UI for a split second, can't really read or interact with anything before it closes.


The system I'm testing it on is running Windows XP SP3
B
6
S
2
G
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 2,497

Post » Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:23 am

Are your graphic card drivers up to date ?

The UI of C2 relies on OpenGL. Try to make sure that your computer has the last version available. (In XP SP3 I believe it should but it never hurts to make sure)

Apart from this it's hard to tell what could make C2 go wrong.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 7,000
Reputation: 57,795

Post » Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:10 am

Everything's all good on that front.
B
6
S
2
G
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 2,497

Post » Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:37 am

Hmm... sounds like this bug that was reported. Not sure what to do about it, since it's working for everyone else and there's no error message...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:46 am

[QUOTE=Ashley] Hmm... sounds like this bug that was reported. Not sure what to do about it, since it's working for everyone else and there's no error message...[/QUOTE]

I'm confused,
I *need* Internet Explorer to run SCIRRA's software?

I purposely gutted IE from this system. I don't want that on here, and if your program relies heavily on it, I probably will not purchase it. It's not very standard or open IMO.

Is there a work around?
B
6
S
2
G
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 2,497

Post » Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:54 am

I don't think taking IE from yer computer it's a good idea. Not because of C2, I am talking in general.
B
47
S
10
G
6
Posts: 455
Reputation: 8,326

Post » Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:55 am

[QUOTE=VampyricalCurse] I don't think taking IE from yer computer it's a good idea. Not because of C2, I am talking in general.[/QUOTE]
people that like security and stability think it is.
B
6
S
2
G
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 2,497

Post » Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:57 am

[QUOTE=adyo] [QUOTE=VampyricalCurse] I don't think taking IE from yer computer it's a good idea. Not because of C2, I am talking in general.[/QUOTE]
people that like security and stability think it is.[/QUOTE]

Isn't it enough to just not use it?
B
47
S
10
G
6
Posts: 455
Reputation: 8,326

Post » Thu Jan 19, 2012 1:57 am

@adyo I'm not sure if this will work but it cant hurt. Make sure you have .Net Framework 4.0, and Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package installed on your PC.

Microsoft .NET Framework 4

Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package
B
50
S
11
G
8
Posts: 479
Reputation: 9,911

Post » Thu Jan 19, 2012 2:21 am

[QUOTE=Wink] @adyo I'm not sure if this will work but it cant hurt. Make sure you have .Net Framework 4.0, and Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package installed on your PC.

Microsoft .NET Framework 4

Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package[/QUOTE]

Thanks, I'm pretty sure it's all installed but I'll triple check
B
6
S
2
G
4
Posts: 7
Reputation: 2,497

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests