Cross-platform Localisation

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:52 am

Hi all,

We're getting to the stage where we need to implement scalable and cross-platform multi-lingual support.

Logically I'd use XML for localised text, but XML isn't supported with CocoonJS.

Does anyone have any other recommendations to tackle this problem?

Thanks!
Moderator
B
72
S
13
G
11
Posts: 900
Reputation: 11,783

Post » Tue Apr 30, 2013 12:58 am

that would be really nice to know
great question
B
39
S
10
G
7
Posts: 514
Reputation: 9,426

Post » Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:22 am

There are 4 possible methods:
-Array.
-Dictionary.
-Database of Global Variables.
-Instance Variables with Text Option to compare languages.

CocoonJS Live Update is one of the features it would integrate XML, i don't know why, would you contact Ludei about XML support?
B
95
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,052
Reputation: 22,613

Post » Tue Apr 30, 2013 1:45 am

@Joannesalfa I've contacted Ludei and despite CocoonJS having basic XML support in the works, Construct 2 uses XPath which isn't currently on their agenda.

An array makes sense, but I don't want to have to populate the array dynamically. That's definitely going to be trouble when trying to maintain many lines of multi-lingual text.

Using AJAX to get a json file seems... like it might work.

Edit -> This CSV plugin combined with Ajax looks like it will be the best solution! I'll do some tests using CocoonJS and report back.thehen2013-04-30 01:47:00
Moderator
B
72
S
13
G
11
Posts: 900
Reputation: 11,783

Post » Tue Apr 30, 2013 2:06 am

Good, I'll be waiting to your results.
B
95
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,052
Reputation: 22,613

Post » Fri Oct 04, 2013 11:43 am

Did this work? We are also localizing our game and need a proper way to do it in Construct 2. We've previously worked with localization on UE3 and in Unity, but not in Construct so any help or reply would be much appreciated.
B
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 206

Post » Fri Oct 04, 2013 11:49 am

@jorgster I didn't get round to any tests in the end but it should work fine.
Moderator
B
72
S
13
G
11
Posts: 900
Reputation: 11,783

Post » Fri Oct 04, 2013 5:49 pm

@thehen thanks for the reply.
B
3
Posts: 3
Reputation: 206


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MrLOL64 and 19 guests