Crosswalk Intel XDK experiences

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:38 am

Does this apply?
https://software.intel.com/en-us/node/5 ... Id=9171639

I have to be honest, I know very little about XDK. I haven't used it at all since CJS works fine for me, but having other alternatives is always good.
B
100
S
32
G
11
Posts: 1,552
Reputation: 21,612

Post » Sat Aug 09, 2014 4:45 am

From what I understand, that could be good for us. But I don't really get the documentation about monetization / android / iOS when it comes to Construct 2. It's very contradictory and not very clear. I'm not even sure of what works and what doesn't at the moment. I wish the information was a bit more consistent.
B
33
S
9
G
3
Posts: 493
Reputation: 4,042

Post » Sat Aug 09, 2014 8:59 am

Silverforce wrote:
Raiper341 wrote:Everythink works for me, even admob :) Thank you very much Intel!


How do you get AdMob to work with C2 & XDK?

There's no XDK plugin for C2 yet?

and
ArcadEd wrote:@Raiper341 Do share how you got admob working.

Nothing special, I only use this and theese nstrcutions: plugin-admob-interstitial-ads-for-crosswalk_t111940 , but i want to test ranberry plugin too :) because this link of plugin is only interstitial ads
B
25
S
4
G
2
Posts: 318
Reputation: 2,491

Post » Sat Aug 09, 2014 11:02 am

Raiper341 wrote:
Silverforce wrote:
Raiper341 wrote:Everythink works for me, even admob :) Thank you very much Intel!


How do you get AdMob to work with C2 & XDK?

There's no XDK plugin for C2 yet?

and
ArcadEd wrote:@Raiper341 Do share how you got admob working.

Nothing special, I only use this and theese nstrcutions: plugin-admob-interstitial-ads-for-crosswalk_t111940 , but i want to test ranberry plugin too :) because this link of plugin is only interstitial ads


Thanks. I saw that, but I just need banner ads & IAP. Hopefully C2 is updated with an XDK plugin that gives us these options.

Edit: I prefer to use an official Scirra supported plugin cos I feel games that I make would be for long term and they need to be updated & compatible later down the road. So as a mobile dev, we already have to deal with 3rd party wrappers, I don't want to deal with 4th party plugins being compatible between C2 & 3rd party wrappers. If you get what I mean.
Last edited by Silverforce on Sat Aug 09, 2014 11:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,609

Post » Sat Aug 09, 2014 11:19 am

@silverforce

Edit:
You can use phonegap admob plugin
Last edited by cranberrygame on Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Construct2 Cordova Plugins (currently 87 plugins): https://www.scirra.com/store/construct2 ... ugins-1662

Construct2 Prototype Capx (currently 50 capx): https://www.scirra.com/store/games-with ... -capx-3088

Home page: http://cranberrygame.com
B
65
S
22
G
81
Posts: 780
Reputation: 46,631

Post » Sat Aug 09, 2014 11:46 am

I change build settings and i get this:
An error occurred while building the application. Verify your build assets are correct and try again.
Build Log:
The App ID is "net.raiper34.buildasnowman"
The App Name is "Build a Snowman"
Preference android-signed set to false. Application will not be signed.
Plugin installed: Connection (org.apache.cordova.network-information)
Plugin installed: SplashScreen (org.apache.cordova.splashscreen)
Plugin installed: Base (intel.xdk.base)
Plugin installed: Device (org.apache.cordova.device)
Plugin installed: Events (battery status) (org.apache.cordova.battery-status)
Plugin installed: playservices (https://github.com/MobileChromeApps/goo ... d595e4ec69)
Plugin installed: admob (https://github.com/cranberrygame/com.cr ... 581377fa71)
Plugin installed: In App Browser (org.apache.cordova.inappbrowser)
Plugin installed: Audio (intel.xdk.audio)

Any idea what?... I really do not know...
B
25
S
4
G
2
Posts: 318
Reputation: 2,491

Post » Sat Aug 09, 2014 2:18 pm

I experienced that error.
It maybe because network error has risen while download plugin.
Remove playservices and admob, then re-add that two plugins.

I tested with example_phonegapadmob_requires id.capx

I Hope you succeed.
Construct2 Cordova Plugins (currently 87 plugins): https://www.scirra.com/store/construct2 ... ugins-1662

Construct2 Prototype Capx (currently 50 capx): https://www.scirra.com/store/games-with ... -capx-3088

Home page: http://cranberrygame.com
B
65
S
22
G
81
Posts: 780
Reputation: 46,631

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 5:19 pm

Are large sounds in the sounds folder supposed to take a long time to preload in compiled versions of the game? Shouldn't it be fast since it is already on the device? A 2-3 minute long music loaded as a Sound (I have my reasons to not load it as music) will take more than 10 seconds to load on a fast device...
B
8
S
1
Posts: 53
Reputation: 787

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 5:36 pm

tpatana wrote:
igalencar wrote:Well i have build it the app .. everything was great at my side.. BUT.. didnt be able to build a app with the admob integration not even the example that the plugin have it.
https://software.intel.com/en-us/html5/ ... pplication
Once again did anyone had try the example?


I tried and nothing happened. It seemed to build normal, just nothing happened. Same for you?

YEs same here
B
24
S
7
G
2
Posts: 63
Reputation: 2,597

Post » Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:34 pm

For heaven's sake. I finally figured out how to add your own icons to Intel XDK Android Crosswalk apps. I'll provide a simple walkthrough since I noticed that this forum and the Intel forum have been lacking proper instructions on how to do things. Instead, people just pop in and give a smart-*** oneliners. Okay, that's my rant. Here's how you do it.

1. Open Intel XDK.
2. Log into your account if you haven't already.
3. Look at the TOP LEFT CORNER where it says "Projects". Click on "Projects"
4. You will notice the page is split in half. The left side is grey. The right one is black. On the right tab, scroll all the way down to "LAUNCH ICONS AND SPLASH SCREENS"
5. Click the "+" logo next to it.
6. It will show 4 tabs. Android, Android-Crosswalk, iOS, Windows 8. Click on "Android-Crosswalk"
7. It will show Launch Icons and Splash Screen. Add the 4 launch icons.

Bam! Now go to the build tab and build your app using Crosswalk!
I bet you did the same silly mistake I did and only added icons to the Android tab. Well. You need to add them to Android-Crosswalk. I have no clue why Intel has two separate tabs for that either.

I have absolutely no clue how to put my AdMob in there. If I ever find out. I will post a tutorial with images and everything because I think it's enough for one of us to suffer. :)

Some info on Intel XDK Crosswalk:

1. In my experience it is just as fast as CocoonJs WITHOUT the sound/audio issues. Your app will still be bloated because Crosswalk comes with its own engine. So whatever the size of your app is right now, add another 16 MB to it. E.g. my 8 MB application grew to 24.55 MB.
One more tip.

2. Under the Projects tab under "Plugins and Permissions" you can turn off all of the Core Cordova and Intel Cordova Plugins. Like I said, Crosswalk seems to be its own engine that already comes with all of that stuff included. It just makes your app look intrusive when Android is asking for 20+ permissions.

3. If you want to update an old app that is already published in Play Store, use the same Project!!! This is so important. I made the fatal mistake to create a new project. Then I went to upload the new app. Google rejects it because the app signing didn't match. I'm sure some people know how to change the app signing. But, who would want to go through that hassle. Just replace your old exported Construct 2 project to the same folder that Intel XDK uses. Intel XDK will refresh all teh files and all you really have to o is press "Build" again.

Hope this helps.
Last edited by Emu on Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
5
S
1
Posts: 6
Reputation: 375

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Colludium and 6 guests