Day/Night system using Colour Overlay

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:05 am

Tulamid's Colour Overlay Effect would make day/night systems a LOT easier, but... There's two main things to figure out.

1. The exact colourations and intensities needed for certain stages of the day, such as dawn, sunset and night (the third one is already provided), and how they'd transition over the cycle

2. Light sources "erasing" the effect at night.

Obviously, the erase effect doesn't work well with Light objects, so... I'm kinda clueless on how to get the second working. Yeah.

Current test cap for the night colouring, and a light source.
B
94
S
37
G
11
Posts: 404
Reputation: 11,275

Post » Fri Nov 05, 2010 7:18 pm

For point 2

A first approach: [url:2vkh76a4]http://www.mediafire.com/file/9y744a1l39riel6/DayNightTest.cap[/url:2vkh76a4]

Light uses mouse behavior, make sure mouse is inside the window. This is just a first step, there would be the need of finetuning, and other solutions may be more efficient. But it's possible.
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Sat Nov 13, 2010 12:35 am

[quote="tulamide":38bn4kla]For point 2

A first approach: [url:38bn4kla]http://www.mediafire.com/file/9y744a1l39riel6/DayNightTest.cap[/url:38bn4kla]

Light uses mouse behavior, make sure mouse is inside the window. This is just a first step, there would be the need of finetuning, and other solutions may be more efficient. But it's possible.[/quote:38bn4kla].


Brilliant!

I'm just starting to learn about Construct, but wanted to let you know how helpful this example is. It was exactly what I was looking for, and will be critical for the first project I have in mind. Thank you.
B
29
S
11
G
12
Posts: 281
Reputation: 11,868

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 11:20 am

Can't get it to work since you changed the name of color overlay. Could you update the example?
B
8
S
2
G
5
Posts: 744
Reputation: 3,288

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 1:17 pm

[quote="Attan":389xggaq]Can't get it to work since you changed the name of color overlay. Could you update the example?[/quote:389xggaq]
Here you are

But see this as an approach only. There would be much work to have it the way you need it. Maybe chroma key is yet the way to go?
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 4:50 pm

It still requests the Color overlay.fx file. Actually, now i seem to need both. I tried to work around it by copying the fusion.fx and renaming it so I'd have both, but it didn't seem to work.
B
8
S
2
G
5
Posts: 744
Reputation: 3,288

Post » Fri Dec 31, 2010 5:54 pm

I'm terribly sorry. I forgot some sprite's effect. Should work now. I updated the link in my post above :oops:
Image
B
23
S
8
G
10
Posts: 1,820
Reputation: 8,242


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests