... debug on IPAD from appMobi export

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 5:37 pm

Hello!
I'm testing my project on IPAD 1 & IPAD 2 with appMobi export (direct canvas).

My problem is that it crashes after a while but only on IPAD 1.
Works perfect on the appMobi web emulator and IPAD 2.

How can I debug in this scenario?
Has the appMobi emulator some kind of resources (RAM & CPU) monitor? and the IPAD?

For now I'm reducing my project functions to see what could be the problem, but this is very slow...

Thank you guys :)
B
29
S
6
G
5
Posts: 148
Reputation: 5,084

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 5:39 pm

You can try with cocoonJS - they have a debug console.

It's probably a memory issue.
B
22
S
7
G
3
Posts: 189
Reputation: 4,270

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 5:41 pm

The whole appMobi export is about 13 mb. Could it be memory issue?GamerGon2012-09-08 18:46:45
B
29
S
6
G
5
Posts: 148
Reputation: 5,084

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 6:39 pm

Damn... in CocoonJS (on IPAD 1) works perfect.
Where this "debug console"?
B
29
S
6
G
5
Posts: 148
Reputation: 5,084

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 7:30 pm

If it crashes, send it to appMobi as a bug report - hopefully they can fix it.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,498

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:03 pm

@Ashley I want to debug a little more before that...

One question, what happens with sprites and all objects when I go from one layout (let's say A) to another (let's say B).

Objects in "layout A" will still being in memory?
For example, I have 5 layouts, and all of them have their backgrounds.

Do I have to destroy all sprites on "On end of layout"? I'm working with resolution for IPAD3 backgrounds, so maybe in IPAD1 there is too much garbage on memory.GamerGon2012-09-08 20:17:20
B
29
S
6
G
5
Posts: 148
Reputation: 5,084

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:16 pm

The textures are kept in memory, as they are downloaded at the beginning of the game anyway.

For the instances, they get destroyed from a layout to another, except if their "Global" property is set to "Yes".

As the original issue happens on mobile and depends on the wrapper/exporter though, the issue should really be reported to appMobi who are the best placed to deal about the issue.
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:16 pm

@GamerGon - everything your project needs is loaded on startup - currently nothing is loaded or unloaded from memory during the running of the game.

directCanvas has no way to debug it. It's something I've struggled with too. If my tests don't work I have to send them to appMobi to investigate, so I'm afraid you'll have to do the same :-\
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,498

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:23 pm

@Kyatric @Ashley so, destroy backgrounds "On end of layout" is useless?
B
29
S
6
G
5
Posts: 148
Reputation: 5,084

Post » Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:32 pm

I don't think it does indeed.
In C2 logic, such "cleaning" is already processed automatically and if anything, it would just add to the process.

IIRC the destroy action does not actually destroy/clean from the memory because of recycling. I think it rather marks the memory address as "to be used" on next object's creation.

The original issue has probably more to see with iPad 1 and his close to non-existing HTML5 gaming support (HTML5 was merely born when the iPad 1 was released).
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests