[Dev Blog] Prototype for platform shooter

Show us your works in progress and request feedback

Post » Wed Jun 17, 2015 8:16 pm

Just picked up Construct last week and have been loving it so far. I come from the creative side of things (graphic designer by trade) so I'm loving the way it all works.

Here's a crummy gif of what I've got so far. Really basic but just trying to get the mechanisms I'd like to use. No bullet events set up yet; that's on dock for this week.

Also working my way through JayJay's book (I'm using CC) and it is incredibly helpful. Dude also peeped my .cap file and fixed a collision error I was having and added some solid notation. Stoked that the community can be that supportive.
B
S
G

Post » Fri Jun 19, 2015 3:31 pm

My daughter and I are just learning C2 - your start looks really great and she would be pretty jealous. Keep up the good work!

Kay.
Be a hero and introduce Project Isabella Graphic Workshop to schools and clubs.
Graphics For Schools
B
S
G

Post » Sat Jun 20, 2015 2:02 pm

It looks awesome :0
B
S

Post » Sun Jun 21, 2015 2:27 am

@RayKi and @blurtsmum Thanks!
B
S
G

Post » Tue Jun 23, 2015 5:41 pm

With the help of @Stemkoski 's tutorial on AI and state machines, I was able to set up some simple states for my test enemies this weekend. Nothing worth showing, but they worked and my event sheet was organized which is mostly what I was after. Also learned about including event sheets within event sheets which is really handy. I'm a huge fan of organization and immediately saw the benefits of this.

Finishing up the Construct book this weekend and hoping to really start putting time towards the prototype next week.
B
S
G

Post » Tue Jun 23, 2015 9:42 pm

The zero to game time in Construct 2 is so great.

I like the style of the game so far, although the field of view seems a bit small.
B
S

Post » Wed Jun 24, 2015 12:54 am