Dialogue/Text display system

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:33 pm

Hi all, me again...

I'm hoping someone can help me with a way to display text during my game.

I'm making an RPG, so there's gonna be a LOT of text during the game, and as much as I'd like to think I'm getting good with Construct, I'm still very much a spirited amateur, so please keep it simple for me!

Thanks in advance
B
11
S
1
Posts: 40
Reputation: 485

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:46 pm

Got a .capx?
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,234

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:52 pm

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/28499111/spacegame.capx

But I havent even started a text system yet. Just wondering if anyone knew a simple way to implement one, as I don't know how to work with arrays, or anything complex ReanimtedNerd2013-08-24 21:53:25
B
11
S
1
Posts: 40
Reputation: 485

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:00 pm

I don't see why you would need an array for a dialogue/text system.

Create a notification box that can be spawned based on a function call. Then call that function any time you want to have dialogue/text.

My strategy game uses a notification system that showcases this.
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,234

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:11 pm

I'm sure I read a tutorial somewhere that mentioned arrays... Never mind

Creating the notification box isn't the problem, my problem is getting the text to appear. Would I need to have every piece of text for the layout off-screen? Probably a noob question but I've never done text before

B
11
S
1
Posts: 40
Reputation: 485

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:38 pm

If it's a game with a lot of text I keep all of the text objects outside the layout on the margin and when needed just teleport the text to the location where it's appearing. It's nothing complex, you will just need a 'Text' object for each bit of text that appears.
B
46
S
16
G
73
Posts: 2,082
Reputation: 43,673

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 10:47 pm

Thanks, any tips on how to get the text to scroll nicely, rather that just appear in one big lump, and how to only allow the player to move on to the next text once it's finished scrolling?ReanimtedNerd2013-08-24 22:53:38
B
11
S
1
Posts: 40
Reputation: 485

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:30 pm

Using a seperate object for every bit of text is very bad practise. Just use the set text action in the event sheet.
I told my dentist I had trouble with my teeth and asked her to fix it without looking in my mouth..
B
54
S
16
G
8
Posts: 6,160
Reputation: 19,775

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:37 pm

@LittleStain is correct, using separate text objects is hogging system resources for no reason.

I would recommend creating a dialogue box, then move that box off-screen or set it to invisible. Then when you want dialogue, have a function that sets the dialogue box to visible, repositions it to X, Y and sets its text (using function parameters). This way you can have one dialogue box work for all dialogue cases that can be shown and hidden on demand.

Again, I would recommend downloading my .capx to see exactly what I mean.Excal2013-08-24 23:38:09
Project Lead of Zems Online Card Game

Producer at Impulse Limited
B
18
S
6
G
3
Posts: 677
Reputation: 5,234

Post » Sat Aug 24, 2013 11:42 pm

Okay, that makes sense. Thank you very much guys!
B
11
S
1
Posts: 40
Reputation: 485

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Laura_D, rayolf and 25 guests