Did anyone have vsync/tearing/stutter problems in Construct2

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2015 7:06 pm

I am having some issues which have been posted here: problems-regarding-lag-firefox-and-browser-preview-problems_t165198

Now I do not expect anyone to read such a long thread, I would like to ask briefly if anyone had problems with vsync or tearing or stutter problems in games created with Construct 2. If yes how did you overcome them?
I am trying different options, turning on Vsync and Gsync (graphics cards = Nvidia Geforce GTX 960) and trying to limit FPS with no luck to be honest.

I cant seem to be able to get rid of the problem.

Ps. I have a 60Hz refresh rate monitor.
Brick by brick, stone by stone.
B
50
S
22
G
13
Posts: 273
Reputation: 10,413

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2015 7:56 pm

vsync works on my machine on firefox/chrome. If it's not disabled in your graphics card properties then i'm not sure where the issue lies.
B
85
S
27
G
85
Posts: 5,066
Reputation: 57,866

Post » Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:25 pm

Same issue here, tearing about a quarter way down from the top of the screen, like a fold.
B
39
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,110
Reputation: 11,184

Post » Tue Dec 15, 2015 5:24 am

Zebbi wrote:Same issue here, tearing about a quarter way down from the top of the screen, like a fold.


What graphics card have you got? Have you tried turning on Vsync? Do you have the tearing in other games too? Other 2d games?
Brick by brick, stone by stone.
B
50
S
22
G
13
Posts: 273
Reputation: 10,413

Post » Tue Dec 15, 2015 8:42 am

@Zebbi

Ive managed to resolve the problem, read viewtopic.php?f=147&t=165198&p=999135#p999135

Perphaps it can help you as well.
Brick by brick, stone by stone.
B
50
S
22
G
13
Posts: 273
Reputation: 10,413

Post » Tue Dec 15, 2015 1:40 pm

Thanks for the suggestion, it's a Y510P laptop so it's a little different to desktop hardware, but mine is tearing on both nVidia and Intel mode of graphics (I can switch between both cards) and I've tried all the vsync options I can find.
B
39
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,110
Reputation: 11,184

Post » Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:13 pm

@Zebbi - what OS are you using?

If windows 7 u need to turn on AERO for the vsync to kick in when in desktop.
Brick by brick, stone by stone.
B
50
S
22
G
13
Posts: 273
Reputation: 10,413

Post » Tue Dec 15, 2015 3:46 pm

Solomon wrote:@Zebbi - what OS are you using?

If windows 7 u need to turn on AERO for the vsync to kick in when in desktop.

Thankyou, that seems to fix it! I set it to Windows 7 theme instead of Lenovo. Does anyone else notice v-sync always has a bit of a drag though? It should do since it has to delay the verticals to catch up, but it kinda makes the control slightly less responsive IMO.
B
39
S
12
G
14
Posts: 1,110
Reputation: 11,184

Post » Tue Dec 15, 2015 4:36 pm

@Zebbi

Glad it helped!
What is your frame rate limit? Did you set one up? Try to set a FPS limit to 60 on your graphics card perphaps that will help with the "drag".
Brick by brick, stone by stone.
B
50
S
22
G
13
Posts: 273
Reputation: 10,413

Post » Tue Dec 15, 2015 9:43 pm

Hardware problems... the bane of software developers existence.
https://www.ravenheart.ca/home
Company name changed to avoid Facebook-type shenanigans

"Someone once told me I bite off more than I can chew...

I told them I would rather choke on greatness than nibble on mediocrity."
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 1,317
Reputation: 4,628


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jobel, omnipaws, tarek2, Triforce and 8 guests