Did C2 destroy my project?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 6:55 pm

Today when i tried to open my project file, it only gave me this error message:

Image

I tried to open it with text editor, but the file is unreadable with it (gibberish). Also that "TiledBackground3.png" is something i have not used in my project for while (it's my first test to do background for the game and when I noticed that it does not look good, i did another sprite as bg). So I don't understand why i still have in that file something that reminds me about that old test after many resaves.

edit: i also tried to open backup file, but it has the same error message.
B
11
S
1
Posts: 63
Reputation: 658

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 7:02 pm

caproj? I dont know, It may have destroyed your project, when you closed it last did it crash or something?
B
4
Posts: 33
Reputation: 266

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 7:17 pm

Yeah, there was some sort of error message at last time i was closing it. If i can remember correctly, it could not build the project because of some shader error. I just cannot remember the details.
Last edited by sorbias on Fri May 29, 2015 7:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
B
11
S
1
Posts: 63
Reputation: 658

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 7:17 pm

No but it's say's cannot find tilebackground3.png not found. You might have move it
B
257
S
43
G
15
Posts: 1,992
Reputation: 41,535

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 7:19 pm

No, i have not moved any files after previous open / close. Also why come it cannot open the project without one png file? It cannot be the last screw that holds the whole boat up.
B
11
S
1
Posts: 63
Reputation: 658

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 7:26 pm

Just place another PNG there with the same name so you can get past that error, and have a look once the project file is open.
ImageImageImage
B
71
S
22
G
259
Posts: 3,794
Reputation: 143,704

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 7:42 pm

Oh, now i understand. Construct 2 actually saved the whole project and everything into it, to windows Temp folder.... (Why in the name of God it needed to do that... )
I know i cannot save it then, because needed to clean temp to save disc space in C...

I think my game is ready now if there is not any trick to save this... Latest autosave i have, is almost 2 weeks old.
B
11
S
1
Posts: 63
Reputation: 658

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 7:52 pm

Strange, I hope it works out, I thought it saved your projects only locally to the folder you chose at the start of your project.
B
4
Posts: 33
Reputation: 266

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 7:54 pm

I had C2 opened when i was cleaning my Temp folder. It probably had some temporary files there and I deleted them. This quite much killed my inspiration. Because so much work lost during this. Maybe i will find it again later. :/
B
11
S
1
Posts: 63
Reputation: 658

Post » Fri May 29, 2015 9:02 pm

That's good to know. It makes sense since capx files need to be unzipped somewhere to be editable. I have a suspicion that may be the main cause of capx corruption. :/

One workaround for the future could be to use a project folder save instead of capx files.

@ashley
Just curious if it would be feasible to have c2 extract capx files to another location other than the temp folder when editing? Or I wonder if there's a way to block them from being deleted while the project is open.
B
94
S
33
G
118
Posts: 5,396
Reputation: 75,853

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests