Difficulty with respawning monster

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:30 am

Hello all,

So, I am having a difficult time figuring out this issue and was hoping someone might be able to point out my stupidity.

What I -want- is for a monster that when it its health reaches zero, it blows up into 3 clumps of slime, which gradually move back to the origin and then 'reform' the monster.

The issue I am having is that when the monster respawns, 3 or more instances of the monster respawns instead of just one instance. And the issue is compounded each time (so if I am using a grenade, and kill all 3 of the overlapping monsters, then 9 more respawn, then 27... all stacked on one spot). The rest of it seems to work fine though.

Here is a picture of the events used for this:





Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
B
19
S
6
G
5
Posts: 98
Reputation: 4,484

Post » Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:36 am

Try swapping out the "AqueousSlime2 | Spawn Aqueous on layer 3" action for a "System | Create Object Aqueous on layer 3 at AqueousSlime2.X, AqueousSlime2.Y" action instead. I'm not sure if that will fix it, but the Sprite's spawn object action has caused a lot of problems for me in the past, so it's worth trying for a (hopefully) easy fix!
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112

Post » Wed Aug 29, 2012 5:59 am

Thanks Sully!

I tried out what you said and it worked like a charm! Thanks very much!
B
19
S
6
G
5
Posts: 98
Reputation: 4,484

Post » Wed Aug 29, 2012 6:10 am

No prob! Glad the easy fix worked.
B
20
S
9
G
6
Posts: 607
Reputation: 6,112


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Renfd, supreme676 and 26 guests