DirectCanvas / Android

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 9:45 am

Hi there,

i have a little question...

Do Android support now DirectCanvas or not?

KMag
B
13
S
4
G
3
Posts: 120
Reputation: 3,456

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 10:13 am

AppMobiIan on Appmobi support forums claims that using the cloud builder you should get directcanvas working on android. (See here)
A forum user claims a successful build of a C2 game with directcanvas on android, but it might be an export error. (See here)
Ashley, Tom, me and a lot of other forum users say NO. It doesn't still work. And this is probably the right answer.
B
11
S
3
Posts: 224
Reputation: 2,028

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 1:44 pm

We only support directCanvas export for Construct 2 to iOS right now. It is in stable release as of r100. We are working on getting Android DC out of beta and updated to work with C2 export.

Since it's in Beta, some people may get their game to work depending on how they created their game in C2, but the success rate is minimal as of now.

Any more questions, let me know :D
appMobi
B
12
S
3
G
4
Posts: 22
Reputation: 2,698

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 2:21 pm

Well, since I have you here, I have an app exported through directCanvas that works in the emulator but just goes to a black screen on my iPad 1. Is there any sort of error console or debug mode on the iPad that can tell me what could be causing the issue? (sorry to hijack your thread Kmag!)
B
22
S
9
G
5
Posts: 122
Reputation: 5,386

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 2:37 pm

How are you viewing the app on your device? Did you make an adhoc build or are you testing in appLab? (if you tested in appLab make sure it has the most recent updates)
appMobi
B
12
S
3
G
4
Posts: 22
Reputation: 2,698

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 2:43 pm

AppLab v3.4.4, just installed it this morning. Watching your adhoc tutorial now, think it's worth a shot?
B
22
S
9
G
5
Posts: 122
Reputation: 5,386

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:02 pm

Hmmmm, well an adhoc build will give you the same results that you're seeing in applab since it's the same native code. In our testing cycles with Scirra we didn't run into any dead black screens. You're not the only person with this issue so I'll follow up with Ashley and do some tests myself to see what the bug might be.

Edit* I'll post back on this thread with my findings

Edit 2* I just helped someone else who had the same problem and the culprit was special characters in the image file names. Might not be a bad thing to check for also. AppmobiTyler2012-08-24 19:04:22
appMobi
B
12
S
3
G
4
Posts: 22
Reputation: 2,698

Post » Fri Aug 24, 2012 11:31 pm

I went through and checked, we only use _ and - which I assume would be ok.

Anyways, I don't want to derail further here so I created my own thread: http://forums.appmobi.com/viewtopic.php?f=17&t=2098

Thanks for the help so far, hopefully we can solve this!
B
22
S
9
G
5
Posts: 122
Reputation: 5,386

Post » Sat Aug 25, 2012 12:50 am

Hey Tyler.

Any chance of seeing support for WebOS? I'd love to have DirectCanvas support for my HP Pre3.
B
6
S
2
Posts: 206
Reputation: 1,685

Post » Mon Aug 27, 2012 2:32 pm

Hey Blinx123

We don't have any plans to support WebOS and since HP stopped backing it, I doubt we will make plans to support it.
appMobi
B
12
S
3
G
4
Posts: 22
Reputation: 2,698

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Shanetastic and 13 guests