Directsound status

New releases and general discussions.

Post » Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:29 am

I haven't even played with sound at all yet... I have Vista with a Creative X-Fi Xtreme sound card, so once this is all done I will test it out and see how it goes. :)

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Thu Sep 25, 2008 1:49 am

i have vista and sound works for me, probably cause realtek supports directsound.

the only prob i have with how sounds are handled atm is that its very difficult to make lots of the same sound be overlappable, like if you have 10 enemys with machine guns, and you tell the event to play a sound when they shoot on channel 6, you wont be able to hear multiple guns firing, and its really difficult to make this "un"happen since they are all the same enemy.

if it can do this please say how? as its been bugging me
B
52
S
7
G
6
Posts: 1,945
Reputation: 7,610

Post » Thu Sep 25, 2008 1:57 am

[quote="QuaziGNRLnose":3dbml9yz]i have vista and sound works for me, probably cause realtek supports directsound.

the only prob i have with how sounds are handled atm is that its very difficult to make lots of the same sound be overlappable, like if you have 10 enemys with machine guns, and you tell the event to play a sound when they shoot on channel 6, you wont be able to hear multiple guns firing, and its really difficult to make this "un"happen since they are all the same enemy.

if it can do this please say how? as its been bugging me[/quote:3dbml9yz]

You can just have the DirectSound object autoplay a sound from a resource. This automatically plays each sound on it's own channel.
Moderator
B
99
S
38
G
19
Posts: 1,584
Reputation: 17,942

Post » Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:44 am

The XAudio2 API still works for WinXP users right?
"Construct 4 lets YOU make advanced games! (maybe)" Construct Classic - Examples Kit
B
86
S
28
G
13
Posts: 2,092
Reputation: 15,009

Post » Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:48 am

[quote="Jayjay":wpxoo3by]The XAudio2 API still works for WinXP users right?[/quote:wpxoo3by]
Looks like yes.
B
2
S
1
G
4
Posts: 60
Reputation: 1,320

Post » Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:02 am

It is rather annoying that a company as big as Microsoft would be as silly as to break support for such a widely used API, but nonetheless this new plugin will be excellent have more features than DS :D.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:26 am

[quote="Rich":1vy5safw]It is rather annoying that a company as big as Microsoft would be as silly as to break support for such a widely used API, but nonetheless this new plugin will be excellent have more features than DS :D.[/quote:1vy5safw]

LOL Rich... are you for serious? That's EXACTLY like Microsoft to do something like that... they do it on purpose so you have to buy new stuff all the time. It's a conspiracy I say!

>.>

<.<

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Thu Sep 25, 2008 10:28 am

Yeah, but usually the consumer gets royally screwed, not developers.. maybe it's their new trick.
B
3
S
2
G
5
Posts: 1,777
Reputation: 5,529

Post » Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:36 pm

[quote="Rich":1p65899g]Yeah, but usually the consumer gets royally screwed, not developers.. maybe it's their new trick.[/quote:1p65899g]

I guess so, but to them we are all the same... we still have to buy thier defective software. :o

~Sol
Tired of crappy file hosts that are crappy? Get DROPBOX - https://db.tt/uwjysXJF
Moderator
B
45
S
17
G
37
Posts: 2,853
Reputation: 25,966

Post » Thu Sep 25, 2008 12:40 pm

Yes, XAudio2 works on WinXP. Ironically, I think the XP implementation relies on DirectSound!
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,630

PreviousNext

Return to Construct Classic Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests