Documentation on built-in uniforms

0 favourites
  • Hello,

I'm quite new to Construct, but I'm experienced with GLSL and have been looking into developing effects for Construct.

While I've been able to figure out how to make effects from examining .fx files and their corresponding XML files, one thing has been bugging me: From what I've figured out, Construct sends many uniforms to the shader, such as samplerFront, samplerBack and others.

I've been able to figure out what many of these are from just trial and error, but it would be really helpful to have a reference for these. Unfortunately, I haven't veen able to find anything like that anywhere.

Does anyone know if there is some kind of documentation on developing shaders for Construct?

• Bump! I would really like this. I too am trying to learn C2 shader dev but trying to do everything with reverse engineering is rough.

• sqiddster glitchg

Here's an overview of all the variables the C2 provides for effects.

All vertex positions, unless stated otherwise are in relation to the screen where (0,0) is the top-left and (1,1) is the bottom-right.

varying vec2 vTex

This is the vertex co-ordinate of the current pixel

uniform sampler2D samplerFront

this is the source pixels. AKA the object's texture or the result of the previous shader.

uniform sampler2D samplerBack

this is where stuff is being drawn to

uniform float pixelWidth

1.0/width or in other words a pixel width in vertex co-ordinates

uniform float pixelHeight

1.0/height or in other words a pixel height in vertex co-ordinates

uniform vec2 destStart

The top-left vertex co-ordinate of the rectange being drawn to.

uniform vec2 destEnd

The bottom-right vertex co-ordinate of the rectange being drawn to.

For example a rectangle that covers the entire screen would have a destStart of (0,0) and a destEnd of (1,1)

Usually they define a rectangle that covers just the object, but depending on the xml settings it can be larger.

uniform float layerScale