Does C2 have good performance?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:06 pm

I Have this great idea of a 2d game. Although, im going solo on this project. I knew that C2 would be good for making a 2d game but not for 3d. Anyway, I just need to make sure if this engine has good performance or not? if so, i can publish to mobile devices using this engine
B
21
S
11
G
3
Posts: 116
Reputation: 3,682

Post » Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:38 pm

It has good performance, but you need to investigate and optimize your code a little bit. It's easy to make things work, but sometimes hard to make it efficient, depending on what you do. Sometimes people use too much effects that will make the game slow. That's not c2 that's slow, it's usually bad design choices and bad code.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
33
S
14
G
16
Posts: 937
Reputation: 11,546

Post » Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:40 pm

Bobbyneal100 wrote:I Have this great idea of a 2d game. Although, im going solo on this project. I knew that C2 would be good for making a 2d game but not for 3d. Anyway, I just need to make sure if this engine has good performance or not? if so, i can publish to mobile devices using this engine


C2 performance, especially on mobile, can be a bit flaky. If you're not doing anything complex, you'll probably be okay.
B
64
S
36
G
19
Posts: 495
Reputation: 16,972

Post » Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:18 pm

So as long as i keep it simple, it won't crash or anything?
B
21
S
11
G
3
Posts: 116
Reputation: 3,682

Post » Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:24 pm

C2 can handle very complex games for mobiles too, you just need to optimize your code well and work with the limitations of weaker spec devices.
B
68
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,755
Reputation: 17,553

Post » Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:18 pm

oh ok. now i just need the animation software for characters. any ideas?
B
21
S
11
G
3
Posts: 116
Reputation: 3,682

Post » Sat Apr 22, 2017 9:31 pm

Spriter
Mistakes were made.
B
47
S
23
G
107
Posts: 1,571
Reputation: 60,133

Post » Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:35 am

ok doesn't spriter have mesh and ffd
B
21
S
11
G
3
Posts: 116
Reputation: 3,682

Post » Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:43 am

Maya

Edit: Blender (free)
Mistakes were made.
B
47
S
23
G
107
Posts: 1,571
Reputation: 60,133

Post » Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:38 am

that might work. But how do i render those animations?
B
21
S
11
G
3
Posts: 116
Reputation: 3,682

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Juninho Pedone, repkino and 7 guests