Does C2 have good performance?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:06 pm

I Have this great idea of a 2d game. Although, im going solo on this project. I knew that C2 would be good for making a 2d game but not for 3d. Anyway, I just need to make sure if this engine has good performance or not? if so, i can publish to mobile devices using this engine
B
30
S
13
G
3
Posts: 133
Reputation: 4,143

Post » Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:38 pm

It has good performance, but you need to investigate and optimize your code a little bit. It's easy to make things work, but sometimes hard to make it efficient, depending on what you do. Sometimes people use too much effects that will make the game slow. That's not c2 that's slow, it's usually bad design choices and bad code.
Follow my progress on Twitter
or in this thread Archer Devlog
B
38
S
15
G
17
Posts: 949
Reputation: 12,320

Post » Fri Apr 21, 2017 5:40 pm

Bobbyneal100 wrote:I Have this great idea of a 2d game. Although, im going solo on this project. I knew that C2 would be good for making a 2d game but not for 3d. Anyway, I just need to make sure if this engine has good performance or not? if so, i can publish to mobile devices using this engine


C2 performance, especially on mobile, can be a bit flaky. If you're not doing anything complex, you'll probably be okay.
B
77
S
43
G
24
Posts: 525
Reputation: 20,580

Post » Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:18 pm

So as long as i keep it simple, it won't crash or anything?
B
30
S
13
G
3
Posts: 133
Reputation: 4,143

Post » Sat Apr 22, 2017 1:24 pm

C2 can handle very complex games for mobiles too, you just need to optimize your code well and work with the limitations of weaker spec devices.
B
70
S
24
G
19
Posts: 1,757
Reputation: 17,614

Post » Sat Apr 22, 2017 3:18 pm

oh ok. now i just need the animation software for characters. any ideas?
B
30
S
13
G
3
Posts: 133
Reputation: 4,143

Post » Sat Apr 22, 2017 9:31 pm

Spriter
Mistakes were made.
B
51
S
25
G
107
Posts: 1,581
Reputation: 60,458

Post » Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:35 am

ok doesn't spriter have mesh and ffd
B
30
S
13
G
3
Posts: 133
Reputation: 4,143

Post » Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:43 am

Maya

Edit: Blender (free)
Mistakes were made.
B
51
S
25
G
107
Posts: 1,581
Reputation: 60,458

Post » Mon Apr 24, 2017 5:38 am

that might work. But how do i render those animations?
B
30
S
13
G
3
Posts: 133
Reputation: 4,143

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests