Does Construct 2 allow multiple independent windows?

Just started using Construct 2? Post your questions here

Post » Wed Jan 27, 2016 6:48 pm

Using Construct 2, is it possible to have a game create a popup window which is not nested in the main game window, but can be placed and moved beyond it independently?
B
2
Posts: 2
Reputation: 154

Post » Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:17 am

I don't believe so.
Check out my completed games on the Arcade! Capt. Doe Save the Universe! & Clicker Wizard!
B
54
S
15
G
8
Posts: 610
Reputation: 8,771

Post » Thu Jan 28, 2016 2:40 am

I've done something like that for Ludum Dare: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-2 ... w&uid=2958

It's a little point and click where you need to open 2 windows. The windows interact using Local Storage and you can click and drag stuff between them. You can download the .capx and see how I did it
B
83
S
22
G
15
Posts: 1,039
Reputation: 15,209

Post » Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:29 am

Message: Crowley9 is not yet permitted to post plain text URLS (300 rep required). 1 URLS removed. Why?
7Soul wrote:I've done something like that for Ludum Dare: It's a little point and click where you need to open 2 windows. The windows interact using Local Storage and you can click and drag stuff between them. You can download the .capx and see how I did it


That is encouraging. Hopefully Construct 2 will provide for my needs.
B
2
Posts: 2
Reputation: 154

Post » Thu Jan 28, 2016 7:33 pm

Hey there,
I basically had the same question as well posted in another part of the forum, and have had no response, but in looking around I cant see how this can be done other than maybe using the example that 7Soul has posted. I was trying to look for another way to do my project and maybe have the same effect. This is what I have come up with. Its just a basic switch between layers but could be useful and could look real nice maybe a tabbed look put to it instead of using buttons like I did. Doing it this way it is like having various windows keeping all of the content within the same event sheets being used. The only draw back to it would be cant have 2 windows showing at once.

The demo: https://www.sfegaming.com/c2/tabbedpanel/
The download of project example: https://www.sfegaming.com/c2/tabbedzip/


I have also come up with another way of using layers to display information on the current screen instead of having to switch between layouts of full screen.
B
79
S
8
G
1
Posts: 30
Reputation: 3,741


Return to Beginner's Questions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests