Does Construct ever delete projects through glitches?

For questions about using Classic.

Post » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:22 am

I opened up my project that I've put over five hours into to implement my own custom particles system and there was literally nothing in the file. It was just like when you open up construct with no file loaded. There where no layers on the screen,no objects, no events... absolutely nothing. Am I missing something here or was my whole project deleted?
B
2
G
3
Posts: 17
Reputation: 884

Post » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:42 am

In earlier builds people would sometimes complain that their .cap files were corrupted, but that hasn't been a problem in a long time as far as I know. I've never heard of a .cap file coming up blank like that, though.

Even so, crashes and glitches might occur when you least expect them so you should always make regular, sequential backups. That way if something does go wrong you will only lose maybe half an hour of work instead of five hours. Construct is still in beta, you know... you have to cover your butt ;)

What's the filesize on that empty .cap file you have? Is it truly empty or does it just appear to be empty? If it's larger than a regular blank .cap file should be then I'm sure the devs would want to take a look at it, so you should post it to the tracker.

If it is just a plain old blank .cap though, I would try to remember the steps you took in saving it to see if you can recreate how it messed up. These kinds of bugs that only happen occasionally are hard to track down unless the devs have some clue about how to isolate the problem.
Moderator
B
5
S
2
G
6
Posts: 4,348
Reputation: 10,971

Post » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:44 am

Did you make sure you reopened the layout itself? The application does load, but if the layout does't automatically appear, then it can look like nothing loaded at all.

I think deleting the .persist file that goes with it will prevent it "remembering" what part of the application you had open when you saved it last. So check your projects list, should still be in there.
B
3
S
2
G
3
Posts: 628
Reputation: 2,531

Post » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:49 am

As with any program at all, not just construct, i make a new save every time i save (every 30 mins or so). But both posts have good suggestions, if the .cap file has a reasonable file size it may be that you haven't opened the layout ;)

And if not, maybe a dev can help you out
B
2
S
2
G
5
Posts: 448
Reputation: 2,546

Post » Wed Dec 23, 2009 12:49 am

[quote="Lost my Keys":298vkwhv]Did you make sure you reopened the layout itself? The application does load, but if the layout does't automatically appear, then it can look like nothing loaded at all.

I think deleting the .persist file that goes with it will prevent it "remembering" what part of the application you had open when you saved it last. So check your projects list, should still be in there.[/quote:298vkwhv]

The layout wasn't open...
This worked... thanks alot!
I feel kind of stupid right now but thanks anyway :?

I'm really sick with a 102 fever right now and I can't think straight :D
But after about a minute looking through the project file I found it...
B
2
G
3
Posts: 17
Reputation: 884

Post » Wed Dec 23, 2009 3:28 am

[quote="Elijah":3c5bvzll]I feel kind of stupid right now but thanks anyway :? [/quote:3c5bvzll]

Imagine how I felt when the same thing happened to me when giving a talk at a local college's auditorium.
I hope this glitch goes away at some point. The tabs also dissappear every now and then :s
B
3
S
2
G
4
Posts: 1,445
Reputation: 4,665


Return to Help & Support using Construct Classic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests