Does DirectCanvas work for Android?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:02 pm

Does DirectCanvas from appMobi work for Android?

I tested the game with XDK, then i exported APK and installed on my android, but it shows black screen.

I noticed DirectCanvas already supports Android
B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,054
Reputation: 22,642

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:57 pm

With appMobi I did the same thing on my Galaxy S2 running Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0.4) and I get Black Screen too.

http://forums.appmobi.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=1261

I think they don't support all Android versions.

I tested the same project on my Galaxy Ace (Android 2.3.6) and it worked perfect.

I'm sure I've read Android support for 2.2 version somewhere but I can't find the link on appMobi's page.GamerGon2012-08-22 22:58:00
B
29
S
6
G
5
Posts: 148
Reputation: 5,084

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:14 pm

[QUOTE=GamerGon] With appMobi I did the same thing on my Galaxy S2 running Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0.4) and I get Black Screen too.

http://forums.appmobi.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=1261

I think they don't support all Android versions.

I tested the same project on my Galaxy Ace (Android 2.3.6) and it worked perfect.

I'm sure I've read Android support for 2.2 version somewhere but I can't find the link on appMobi's page.[/QUOTE]

That's complicated about Android versions... my version was 2.3.1 and got black screen.

B
96
S
25
G
20
Posts: 3,054
Reputation: 22,642

Post » Wed Aug 22, 2012 11:18 pm

[QUOTE=Joannesalfa]That's complicated about Android versions... my version was 2.3.1 and got black screen.

[/QUOTE]

Here http://apphub.appmobi.com/csd/ControlPanel.aspx

- App building -> Android -> Build test -> It shows "Android 2.2". In "Details" tab you can choose between Android 2.1 and 2.2 only.
B
29
S
6
G
5
Posts: 148
Reputation: 5,084

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:07 am

I also got a black screen. Trying messing with it for a while, but couldn't found a solution, so I gave up.

Running Android 4.0.4 on my Motorola Defy. CocoonJS works perfectly, by the way.
B
106
S
35
G
37
Posts: 798
Reputation: 25,215

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 12:22 am

directCanvas isn't yet supported on Android - but they're working on it, so hopefully it will arrive soon.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 3:09 pm

[QUOTE=GamerGon]
I tested the same project on my Galaxy Ace (Android 2.3.6) and it worked perfect.
[/QUOTE]

Just a question.
How did you manage to get directcanvas working on a Galaxy ACE? I have the same phone and using the ad hoc builder (as suggested on AppMobi forums) I get only a black screen with my project.
I know that directcanvas for android is now in open beta and it may not work with C2 exports but even a simple JS done by myself to test a simpler project resulted in a black screen on my phone.Knifegrinder2012-08-23 15:10:53
B
11
S
3
Posts: 224
Reputation: 2,028

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 5:10 pm

directCanvas does not currently work on Android - I think @GamerGon must have exported with 'use phone browser' which will be slower, but still work on Android.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,580

Post » Thu Aug 23, 2012 7:43 pm

Maybe @Ashley is right. I will try it again being sure of selecting Direct Canvas.

After that I'll tell you my results.
B
29
S
6
G
5
Posts: 148
Reputation: 5,084

Post » Fri Apr 26, 2013 3:34 pm

I just heard back from Intel. They say

"DirectCanvas (now AGI) is supported on android on 2.2+."

http://developer.html5dev-software.intel.com/
http://appcenter.html5tools-software.intel.com/
perqa2013-04-26 15:37:39
B
8
Posts: 5
Reputation: 322

Next

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tom and 20 guests