Does "distance" works with collisions off?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:09 am

Hi,

Does "distance" works if both instances have their collisions set to off?

Thx
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:15 am

why wouldn't it
B
77
S
13
G
8
Posts: 1,973
Reputation: 9,891

Post » Fri Apr 24, 2015 2:16 am

QuaziGNRLnose wrote:why wouldn't it


Cool, thx!
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Fri Apr 24, 2015 10:51 am

QuaziGNRLnose wrote:why wouldn't it


Would you happen to know, if performance is on pair with "is overlapping" ? I need to switch to distance, cause on overlapping, collisions glitch out sometimes.

[email protected] NO!! They get stuck on distance too :<
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099

Post » Fri Apr 24, 2015 6:50 pm

How are you handling the collisions? Using distance instead of is overlapping is just a different way to detect collisions, they don't affect how the collision is resolved.
B
92
S
32
G
106
Posts: 5,272
Reputation: 69,455

Post » Fri Apr 24, 2015 6:53 pm

R0J0hound wrote:How are you handling the collisions? Using distance instead of is overlapping is just a different way to detect collisions, they don't affect how the collision is resolved.


I found out it was timer behaviour as well as flipping and mirroring that was causing all the issues with objects getting stuck. Removing flipping stopped characters from getting stuck on slopes, and time behaviour getting stuck at destination points, where it was used.
My professional Royalty Free Music at Scirra Assets Store
--------------------------------
Specs: i5 2500, 16gb of ram, gtx 770, win 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, Mackie mr8mk2, Alesis 320, browsing the net on chrome.
B
89
S
30
G
22
Posts: 1,985
Reputation: 20,099


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Solomon, Studio Mercato and 2 guests