Does everything have to load at the start?

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Mon Jan 21, 2013 6:17 am

I want to make a game with lots of unique art assets with cutscene panels and other such things.

If I want to go from gameplay, to cutscene "panels" should this be a new layout or should it be part of an existing layout?

Do layouts load new assets as they appear, or are they more akin to a quick "cut" to whatever is already in memory.

How can I use layouts to go from cutscenes, which are detailed panels with text, to gameplay and vice versa.

Can I have custom loading screens mid game, or must all HTML 5 games load assets at the start?Awakening2013-01-21 06:18:11
B
9
S
3
Posts: 148
Reputation: 1,738

Post » Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:02 pm

nobody know what Im talking about sorry if noobish question.
B
9
S
3
Posts: 148
Reputation: 1,738

Post » Fri Jan 25, 2013 5:15 pm

At the moment C2 loads all the assets at the start of the game.

You can do a single custom loading screen.

Once everything in memory, there shouldn't be issue switching from a layout to another, from a cutscene to gameplay.

You can use several layouts, or you may stack everything in layers, whatever feels best to you making/playing it.Kyatric2013-01-25 17:16:55
New to Construct ? Where to start

Image Image
Image Image

Please attach a capx to any help request or bug report !
Moderator
B
247
S
85
G
40
Posts: 6,998
Reputation: 57,791

Post » Sat Jan 26, 2013 5:17 am

Wouldn't that limit the number of assets we can use in a game? Most games have loading screens between levels so that there is virtually no limit to the games asset variety...Awakening2013-01-26 05:22:09
B
9
S
3
Posts: 148
Reputation: 1,738

Post » Sat Jan 26, 2013 9:13 pm

I'm a bit worried about this too. Will this change in the future? Can it change, C2 being html5 and web/mobile-oriented and all?
B
22
S
6
G
1
Posts: 398
Reputation: 3,384

Post » Sun Jan 27, 2013 2:58 am

Ashley said layout-by-layout loading is in the todo list
B
20
S
5
G
8
Posts: 325
Reputation: 6,473

Post » Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:29 am

[QUOTE=lemo] Ashley said layout-by-layout loading is in the todo list[/QUOTE]
THAT is very good to know.
I'm seeking Narnia. Who wants to come with me! Aslan is on the move!
B
112
S
20
G
8
Posts: 741
Reputation: 13,636

Post » Sun Jan 27, 2013 3:30 am

awesome!
B
9
S
3
Posts: 148
Reputation: 1,738


Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CavalierBubble and 20 guests