Does using a lot of layers affect performance?

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Sat Jul 18, 2015 7:43 am

1) If each layer is has no effect or parallax.
2) If each layer has different parallax value.

Also has somebody noticed that if you make a new layer and put it under the default 'layer 0' that C2 creates the objects of those layers go behind the canvas. Is this a bug?
B
26
S
1
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,100

Post » Sat Jul 18, 2015 8:54 am

I don't know. Probably the best way to test it is to acquire from somewhere a cheap Android phone or tablet and try it. I have a 2 year old 7" Android 4 tablet which cost me about £30, if it runs on that it will run on anything pretty much. Sometimes people have old smartphones they have upgraded, these might make good testing platforms as well.
My tutorial through development blog is at http://myconstruct2dev.blogspot.co.uk/
B
12
S
3
Posts: 221
Reputation: 1,328

Post » Sat Jul 18, 2015 10:40 am

I don't think layers affect anything; it's what you put in them. No it's not a bug; the bottom-most layer has transparency disabled by default.
Image
B
243
S
30
G
13
Posts: 1,787
Reputation: 18,770

Post » Sat Jul 18, 2015 10:48 am

Layers have virtually no performance impact unless you:

1) add a shader effect
2) change the opacity from 100%
3) change the blend mode to something other than "normal"
4) enable "force own texture"

All of the above will force the layer to render to an intermediate texture, which has a memory and GPU fillrate overhead. Note parallax has no effect, it does not cause this.
Scirra Founder
B
395
S
232
G
88
Posts: 24,371
Reputation: 193,762

Post » Sat Jul 18, 2015 4:45 pm

Thanks for the reply @paulscottrobson and @Ashley and @Tokinsom for clarifying my doubts.
B
26
S
1
Posts: 59
Reputation: 1,100


Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests