Donkey Kong Country Revisted (Fangame)

Post your Construct-made creations!

Post » Sat Nov 03, 2012 5:41 pm

As a fan of the DKC series since they first came out, as a child I always wanted to create my own version of the game. Same gameplay but my own worlds/levels/bosses etc. I used to make huge books with level plans and game ideas since the age of 11.

It wasn't until much later, when I was 16 back in 2002, that I decided to program my own DK engine from scratch using Visual Basic 6. So no assistance from game-making engines like MMF2 or Construct etc but just purely coded from scratch. Some 1000 sprite frames, 5000 lines of code, and a month later, things got really messy and unmanageable and I realised that I had stepped into something I couldn't practically complete. The result, although glitchy and a way off the gameplay mechanics of the original, was still pretty impressive to me at the time.

Anyway, many years later I started playing all the DKC series again on SNES and got my hands on those childhood books again. Stumbled upon this site and decided to give the whole make-your-own-DKC-clone another go, this time I feel lazy so instead of programming it from the ground up, I'm using Construct Classic. What I want is to finally realise my childhood vision.

Updated 2012-11-14
[TUBE]YSF5wnAQwbA[/TUBE]

Thanks for reading/watching! Please share your thoughts...!djsubtronic2012-11-14 22:24:56
B

Post » Sat Nov 03, 2012 8:28 pm

Nice engine, very similar to the original! I can't wait to play this.

Are you going to use some 3D program to make new enemies and stuff?
B
S
G

Post » Sun Nov 04, 2012 2:52 am

Thanks Ciro.

I have no idea how to make sprites/use 3D software. So for now the idea is just to re-use existing enemies and collectibles, but I will be incorporating stuff from all three games to make up for the lack of new stuff.
B

Post » Mon Nov 05, 2012 11:44 pm