Double Jump.

Get help using Construct 2

Post » Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:53 am

Hello world! =]

I'm trying to do the double jump pose, and all I get is only the animation playing the second jump, but the second jump is not happening.

I believe this may be caused by the "ground" necessity or something like this.

Also, I tried to use "setting vector Y" to go up, changing the jump strength, and other tries not worked =\

Any sample to help me?
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
19
G
12
Posts: 1,192
Reputation: 18,301

Post » Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:08 pm

How about your give your character a private variable, "InAir"

So that when your player sprite jumps, it can be like:


Player is jumping
-Set InAir to 1

InAir = 1
Control "Jump" is pressed
-Make player Jump
-set jump strength to (x)

Player is on ground
-Set InAir to 0
-Set Jump strength to default
B
19
S
3
G
2
Posts: 148
Reputation: 1,945

Post » Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:11 pm

that's exactly what I said when I did him double jump, and not work, because (I think) it need a ground to make the jump pose happen.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
19
G
12
Posts: 1,192
Reputation: 18,301

Post » Wed Nov 09, 2011 6:40 pm

there's a tutorial
http://www.scirra.com/forum/platformer-double-jump_topic45730.html
B
19
S
3
G
3
Posts: 56
Reputation: 2,496

Post » Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:22 pm

I give up, that way I commented, using the vector Y is not working =\

Maybe because of the falling setups, it will change the character to another sprite animations...

I'll do it later, better give up now and cool my brain a little bit.

[QUOTE=TELLES0808] Hello world! =]

I'm trying to do the double jump pose, and all I get is only the animation playing the second jump, but the second jump is not happening.

I believe this may be caused by the "ground" necessity or something like this.

Also, I tried to use "setting vector Y" to go up, changing the jump strength, and other tries not worked =\

Any sample to help me?[/QUOTE] TELLES08082011-11-09 19:25:14
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
19
G
12
Posts: 1,192
Reputation: 18,301

Post » Wed Nov 09, 2011 10:25 pm

you should post your capx file so we can see directly what you are trying to do.
B
19
S
3
G
2
Posts: 148
Reputation: 1,945

Post » Wed Nov 16, 2011 2:16 pm

Try this



As of course you'll have to set your own values :)AngeloFernandes2011-11-16 14:17:27
B
18
S
4
G
5
Posts: 149
Reputation: 4,498

Post » Wed Nov 16, 2011 3:28 pm

Doesnt work with Shift, cause Shift is allready set for jump. If you choose an other key it works fine!TastyBytes2011-11-16 15:28:25
B
14
S
2
G
6
Posts: 110
Reputation: 3,849

Post » Wed Nov 16, 2011 6:43 pm

If i got it right, you want to do two different jump poses in a double jump wich could be something like this http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5214903/GM/jumpPose.capx

As for your problem in using vector Y, its not easy to find a solution when you dont include the file
B
43
S
9
G
5
Posts: 231
Reputation: 7,291

Post » Thu Nov 17, 2011 1:43 pm

No problem @Miu3

I said that vector solution is not working with my code, all the solution suggested here was tried before I post, so, I simple give up, double jump is not my main objective now.

To be clear, I didn't see a single sample file using double jump and the falling settings. They are all using only the jumping setting, that's nice, but after the R64/65 where was implemented that platform triggers (on jump, on land, etc) broken my code and my conditionals for double jump stop to work.

Maybe later I do a completely new code for it.

Thanks everybody for the time spend trying it, I appreciated your help.

I'll come here back only when I solve this issue, in one month +/-.

Cya!
ImageImageImageImageImageImage
B
93
S
19
G
12
Posts: 1,192
Reputation: 18,301

Next

Return to How do I....?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 99Instances2Go and 27 guests