Download Construct 2 release 28.2

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Feb 15, 2011 7:21 pm

@thedeveloper, what's your graphics card? (Open a layout and click About)
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Tue Feb 15, 2011 7:40 pm

No Crash here on load or close
Tried with blank layout and with a sprite/mouse movement and

Release 28.2(64 bit) checked
Windows 64 Ultimate
Nvidia Geforce GTS 250
OpenGL3.3.0

May I also suggest for quick bug reports and quantifying issues some sort of error trapping collection and submitting scheme.

>You could have a submit error report button or box in the about window with a category drop-down box to make sure you get specific info and a short explanation. And then have it send the basic system info along with it.

Fantastic job by the way.
B
1
G
1
Posts: 3
Reputation: 431

Post » Tue Feb 15, 2011 8:30 pm

I still crash on close (with sprite.) I'm using the vista home premium laptop.

Release 28.2 (32-bit) checked
OpenGL 2.1.0
Intel; Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family
Shader language 1.20
B
8
S
1
G
1
Posts: 13
Reputation: 788

Post » Tue Feb 15, 2011 9:11 pm

Release 28.2 (32-bit) checked
OpenGL 2.1.0
Intel; Mobile Intel(R) 4 Series Express Chipset Family

Same as Aindra - Dell Studio Laptop Windows Vista 32 Bit
B
2
G
1
Posts: 17
Reputation: 484

Post » Tue Feb 15, 2011 11:17 pm

Crash on exit.
OS: XP sp3
Release 28.2 (32-bit)
OpenGL 3.3.0
GeForce 9800GT

Don't know if below is of any use:

Trace shows:
function: Construct2
00505e58 1000 adc [eax],al
00505e5a cc int 3
00505e5b cc int 3
00505e5c cc int 3
00505e5d cc int 3
00505e5e cc int 3
00505e5f cc int 3
00505e60 55 push ebp
00505e61 8bec mov ebp,esp
00505e63 83ec1c sub esp,0x1c
FAULT ->00505e66 ff4f08 dec dword ptr [edi+0x8] ds:0023:00000008=????????
00505e69 53 push ebx
00505e6a 56 push esi
00505e6b 0f85b0000000 jne Construct2+0x105f21 (00505f21)
00505e71 8d9894010000 lea ebx,[eax+0x194]
00505e77 8d45f0 lea eax,[ebp-0x10]
00505e7a 8bcb mov ecx,ebx
00505e7c e8ef4ff1ff call Construct2+0x1ae70 (0041ae70)
00505e81 8d45e4 lea eax,[ebp-0x1c]
00505e84 8bcb mov ecx,ebx
00505e86 e88580fdff call Construct2+0xddf10 (004ddf10)
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,841
Reputation: 48,283

Post » Wed Feb 16, 2011 6:53 am

Could be CPU/chipset?
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

Post » Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:21 am

[quote="Mipey":371nnhgt]Could be CPU/chipset?[/quote:371nnhgt]

Good point.

Extra juice:
Mobo: ASUS Crosshair.
Chipset: Geforce 6150/Southbridge nForce 570 SLI
CPU:AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 6000+, MMX, 3DNow (2 CPUs), ~3.1GHz
DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

All drivers WHQL digitally signed.


Zen
If your vision so exceeds your ability, then look to something closer.
Moderator
B
120
S
28
G
68
Posts: 4,841
Reputation: 48,283

Post » Wed Feb 16, 2011 3:24 pm

Nice update,

I agree with what others have said though, it would be much better with a "Enable developer mode" option in a settings dialog rather than editing the registry. You could have tabs and then give it a unique page where it says a quick warning people should not enable it if they don't know what they are doing. In a unique tab it would allow you to add additional options in the future also.

I don't usually use app updater options as i just go to the forums/website and prefer to use them offline. If there is going to be online things it would be good to have the options to disable the checking in the settings as anti-virus apps give warnings etc so it would be good to have this option available.

Even though the app is beta it is starting to get really good, and once expressions are fully added like in V1 it will be great. Nice work so far :D
B
2
S
2
G
1
Posts: 121
Reputation: 1,092

Post » Wed Feb 16, 2011 3:32 pm

I know developer mode UI would be nice, but I'd rather be spending my limited time doing things like expression intellisense rather than putting together UI for plugin developers. UI is tricky, takes time and can have bugs. All you just need to create a reg key as a one-off, it's pretty straightforward! I can't see any real advantage to having UI for it, other than "this would be kinda nice and save me a few seconds"...
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,946
Reputation: 178,478

Post » Wed Feb 16, 2011 3:39 pm

Might want to distance yourself from the registry, however... use an INI or something that you can save place in the user's application folder.

In fact, where are all those Construct 2 settings saved at?
B
62
S
21
G
12
Posts: 1,910
Reputation: 13,155

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DankP3, NetOne, Zonacas and 4 guests