Download Construct 2 release 32.2

Discussion and feedback on Construct 2

Post » Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:11 am

Basically there's two ways of setting up an animated sprite : importing separated images, while the engine assemblies them internally in a spritesheet storing the frame rects , or importing a spritesheet and and finding these frame rects either manually by the user, or automatically by the engine. I don't know if old C1 already did it this way exactly . But from what i remember , the spritesheet importing part wasn't very flexible since you could only define a fixed frame rect like 32x32 to cut the spritesheet.
B
58
S
13
G
10
Posts: 632
Reputation: 12,515

Post » Wed Apr 13, 2011 5:11 am

Still broken for me :(
B
55
S
12
G
8
Posts: 339
Reputation: 9,314

Post » Thu Apr 14, 2011 4:42 pm

Had a problem: Deleted a sprite , from scene , then from object types. Closed the project . When reopened it crashed : The event related to that sprite was not erased, so C2 complained that could not find it. Did i do something wrong when removing the sprite ?

Other thing : C2 sometimes crashes when changing active layer : Something about properties refresh.
B
58
S
13
G
10
Posts: 632
Reputation: 12,515

Post » Thu Apr 14, 2011 5:11 pm

@cow_trix: what's broken?

@Kiyoshi: I think I can reproduce this. Looks like when you delete an object type, actions which reference it in an object parameter disappear from view, but still get saved to the XML (which is wrong!). I'll try to fix it for the next build. Also looking in to the changing layer thing.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Thu Apr 14, 2011 6:01 pm

Ok, nice :D
B
58
S
13
G
10
Posts: 632
Reputation: 12,515

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 2:46 am

@Ashley: I can't add an action. When I try to add an action in the event sheet, the focus goes off the main window as if the 'add event' window is open, but nothing appears. I have to hit ESC, which I'm assuming closes the invisible 'add event' window. I've managed, by randomly hitting Tab and Enter, to get some events to appear, so it's obviously open, but its invisible and I can't interact with it in any way.

I have a notion what might be happening - I opened Construct 2 when I was using a dual-monitor setup, so its possible the event window is opening in that now non-existent space. How are the initial coordinates of the event window done?
B
55
S
12
G
8
Posts: 339
Reputation: 9,314

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 6:02 am

Object's hotspot would be bice.
B
11
S
3
G
8
Posts: 473
Reputation: 4,569

Post » Fri Apr 15, 2011 4:52 pm

@cow_trix: Windows decides the position of the window. That seems odd. What version and service pack of Windows are you on? You could try deleting the Construct 2 registry key (HKCU\Software\Scirra\Construct 2 IIRC) which will reset the size and position of all dialogs, and try again.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

Post » Mon Apr 18, 2011 8:34 am

[quote="Ashley":clx0tovb]@cow_trix: Windows decides the position of the window. That seems odd. What version and service pack of Windows are you on? You could try deleting the Construct 2 registry key (HKCU\Software\Scirra\Construct 2 IIRC) which will reset the size and position of all dialogs, and try again.[/quote:clx0tovb]

Yes! That works. I was on Windows 7 64bit. This is a problem that will probably never occur again, but do you think it would be necessary to set the window position to say the middle of the parent window as a safeguard?
B
55
S
12
G
8
Posts: 339
Reputation: 9,314

Post » Mon Apr 18, 2011 8:48 am

It shouldn't be necessary. C2 saves the state of the UI (dialog sizes and positions amongst other things) in the registry. Sometimes new builds change the UI - adding or removing controls from a dialog, and so on. This can make the old saved registry data invalid. It still tries to load it, though, and as a result it gets interpreted as corrupt data. Like you found, it can end up with dialogs not appearing.

Usually I remember to put a note in the changelog stating that you need to clear the registry when I make such changes - I must've forgotten.
Scirra Founder
B
359
S
214
G
72
Posts: 22,952
Reputation: 178,600

PreviousNext

Return to Construct 2 General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests